Hi, I am a college student that is considering the 8820. I realize this isn't the newest blackberry. But its in my price range, and it has WiFi, which is really important. I was wondering if this was a smart choice. I have no plan on getting the BB data plan. Mainly because usually when I need the internet I am at school or at home where I have wireless access. So what is your opinion is this a smart choice. I have had the curve before, but ended up having to trade it for a tilt because it wasn't working correctly. I like to keep my schedule and my homework assignment in my phone so that i dont have to carry around a planner with me. Also i cant jot down quick notes that i need to remember for later. Does this phone sound right for me, or is there a better phone out there for me?

Thanks
    01-23-09 03:11 PM
    I think this phone would be perfect for you if you don't mind that it doesn't have a camera. Other than that, the wifi works great, the browser is good (not html) but overall its a good solid blackberry.
    01-23-09 03:34 PM
    Also read this thread http://forums.crackberry.com/f33/882...o-data-118503/

Because I have a data plan with my bb, I don't know if the wifi really works w/o it.
    01-23-09 03:39 PM
    Thanks. I dont really need the camera because I always have my digital camera with me.
    01-23-09 04:02 PM
    I'm a student as well and if you can live without the camera, it's a great choice. I got mine because I had no data plan and was interested in the Wi-Fi (which worked great on AT&T) and the only reason I'm looking into trading it is I now have data and miss the camera. The grass is always greener on the other side, I suppose.
    01-23-09 11:48 PM