I am new to the BB world and just bought a 8830 BB. Is there a way to tether the BB with my laptop without paying an additional $15.00 to Verizon? I use to use a cell phone with another carrier and didn't have to pay an additnal fee to get online using my laptop & phone.
    06-08-07 04:09 PM
    Welcome to the world of crackberries. I have the 8830 and I use the tethered feature. That is one of the main reasons I bough it. I don't know of any way to get around the extra charge. However, I have a buddy with a Treo on Verizon and he found a program to run on his Treo ($29 one time cost) that allows him to tether his device without buying the package and using the Verizon software.
    06-08-07 04:33 PM
    Thanks for the info. If you happen to talk to your buddy any time soon, see if they can give you the name of the program he runs on his treo.
    06-08-07 04:39 PM
    If it is Windows based the program is probably PDAnet.
    06-11-07 01:01 PM
    I have not been able to contact my friend, but PDANet sounds like what he told me it was.
    06-11-07 03:50 PM
    Thanks for letting me know the name of the program. I will see if I can get it to work for me!
    06-11-07 05:52 PM
    There is not a PDAnet version for the BB. It is a fantastic product and worked very well on my Palm 700w. Unfortunately. the 700w was a dog in many other respects and we switched to the 8830.
    06-15-07 05:29 PM