Hi-

I am new to blackberry but do consider myself mildly tech savy. I have a few issues that I was hoping someone out there could help me with.

1- I have around 60 calender entries that sync with my outlook and 8830. No matter how I add them, they dont alarm on my handheld.

2- Is there a ringer or setting that will allow the 8830 to ring and vibrate at the same time instead of one then the other?

3- Does anyone have this issue? When I use a speed dial, the call activates the speaker for about 2 seconds (which is very loud) and then switches over to the earpiece.

Thanks for all your help!

Keith
    06-25-07 01:17 PM
    1 - The CICAL service books that were added as part of BIS 2.3 are the problem here. Go into your service books and delete them, and the issue with the alarms will be resolved. Now the bad thing about when you delete the service books, is that you will also be deleting your appointment. Make sure you backup first.

2 - No way to get ring and vibrate at the same time. Wish there was.

3 - I don't have an 8830 to say for sure, but on my Curve when i use speed dial, I hear a dialing sound through the speakerphone, then it transfers to the earpiece.
    06-25-07 01:47 PM
    Hi-

thank you for your quick reply. I am looking in my service books and dont see anything like that. Am i looking in the wrong place?

Thanks
    Keith
    06-25-07 01:59 PM
    Do you see the CMIME service books?
    06-25-07 02:07 PM
    well, now i see the CICAL next to each of my email addresses and another of the CMIME next to each of my email addresses. Are one of those what you want me to delete? if so, will it erase my email addresses?

Thanks again!
    06-25-07 02:11 PM
    You can delete the CICAL service books and be fine. Those are used for meeting requests only. Now if you want the meeting requests, you'll have to decide which is more important; meeting requests or event alarms.