Newbie here, but I am the tinkering kind. I am good with computers and phones [I work for Verizon] and since the 8830 I have now is only temporary I wanna try to upgrade to the latest OS. Which can I install on this device?
    10-23-08 07:11 PM
    You can only install a 8830 OS on the 8830. I don't believe any carriers have released 4.5 for the 8830. You can try a google search for a beta 4.5.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-23-08 07:15 PM
    I have 4.5.0.51 (Platform 3.2.0.41)

Not sure if there is one above this though.
    10-24-08 10:58 AM
    I have 4.5.0.51 (Platform 3.2.0.41)

Not sure if there is one above this though.
    You can find 4.5.0.77 for the 8830 WE. I've been using it on Sprint 8830 WE for the past 7 weeks.

It does take up more of the BB memory, tho, so you may need to dump some unused apps in order to keep it stable.
    10-24-08 11:05 AM
    You can find 4.5.0.77 for the 8830 WE. I've been using it on Sprint 8830 WE for the past 7 weeks.

It does take up more of the BB memory, tho, so you may need to dump some unused apps in order to keep it stable.
    Thanks! I thought there was a newer OS.

I usually only have 3MB-6MB left on the 8830WE, it's really annoying. I have taken everything off that I don't need too.

I can't wait for the Storm -
    10-24-08 11:14 AM

I've tried to update to the 4.5 OS from my Sprint 8830 WE and it's saying I already have the latest software, but it's not reflecting that in my settings. Any help/suggestions?

gracias
    10-24-08 11:34 AM
    I deleted my copy of device manager on my machine and downloaded the 4.5.0.77 version from here. (sorry... too many rules, just google 4.5.0.77 as the poster below said).
    After it was done installing it asked if I wanted to load the application loader and I went for it. It is updating my phone to 4.5 as we speak.

In fact almost done, on step 10 of 11!

Edit: P.S. It worked perfectly with many more multimedia updates.