Hey Guys,
    Im a newbie, so be gentle. I just got my first Blackberry, and I am overwhelmingly happy with it. However, I dont understand something. I'm using Gmail and having it pushed to my BB. However, when I mark something as read, or delete it on my Berry, it stays unread on the Gmail Server. I know that IMAP is the way to fix this, but how do i reconfigure my current settings on my BB to make it use IMAP and not POP?

Thanks,
    TBM
    07-26-08 10:28 PM
    Hey Guys,
    Im a newbie, so be gentle. I just got my first Blackberry, and I am overwhelmingly happy with it. However, I dont understand something. I'm using Gmail and having it pushed to my BB. However, when I mark something as read, or delete it on my Berry, it stays unread on the Gmail Server. I know that IMAP is the way to fix this, but how do i reconfigure my current settings on my BB to make it use IMAP and not POP?

Thanks,
    TBM
    Hi there,

I'm not an expert on BB's and don't thik they work that way at all, but if you go into you messages and then press the blackberry button and then select options > email reconsiliation you can select your gmail account and then choose 'prompt' from the second box down. That will make your !! Always give you the choice to delete your messages just on your BB or on the BB and server.

Robin
    07-27-08 03:37 AM
    ***Okay, I guess I can not help people out until I have 10 posts. No URLs for me.

A few things I have learned trying to use gmail with my new blackberry over the last few days are:

1) There is a tonne of info on this site.

2) How to turn on IMAP here: mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=78882 . But something to consider is before with pop I got my email on my BB before my computere and after it took over 15 minutes at times.