Hello All,
    I'm new to CB & have a 8830WE. I'm still learning what a useful tool I have. My question is- I cannot get an audible alert when I have a voice mail. As a Realtor on the move, I cannot always look at the screen. I have searched for help and even called Verizon for help. Still no help! Any suggestions?
    11-10-08 10:05 AM
    Check your Profiles. Go to Profiles and then Advanced and then edit your active profile. Then simply change your voicemail alert. Be aware that a BB will not repetedly notify you of a voice mail. In other words, if you set the voicemail notification to be a ding, that sound file that plays, will play once and that's it. The red led indicator will continue to flash for 15 minutes after that and then go out. This is how a BB functions. Also, by default a voicemail notification is turned on and set to something. If you've messed with your profiles or set it Viabrate, that indicates why you aren't receiving anything.

You might want to consider going to the Blackberry.com website and looking for a Help 101 online wizard for your 8830. They have them under the Help section and covers the basics of what you want to do on your BB. They also have complete user manuals on there which go above and beyond what the dinky VZW getting started guide does.
    11-10-08 01:09 PM
    I realize that Blackberries are unique and all... but I miss that auditory notification that keeps dinging until I've told it to stop. If I go out for a run without my berry I don't want to have to check it as soon as I get back to see if there are messages... I want the option of having sound notification.. I will check for apps that might offer this- but anyone know of one off the top of their head?
    12-09-08 09:46 PM
    ok- found what looks like a solution- the Handago "Blackberry Alerts" download. I searched for it on google and found rave reviews.
    12-10-08 12:57 AM
    Welcome to CB!