I am new to BB so if there is already a post in regards to this i do apologize. I am on my second 8830 (first one had to be returned due to the fact that it stopped charging) now. Anyways my track ball has stopped working only when i try to scroll down. I can scroll up and to both sides just not down. Called vzw tech support and was informed "that this is known issue with the BB trackball and at this time there is nothing they can do except to send me a replacement". I am okay with them sending me a replacement just was wondering if anyone else is having this issue and or knows if there is anything I can do to fix it. Due to the trackball not working properly it is currently just a phone.
    09-16-07 02:45 PM
    I had this issue on a Pearl. A battery pull (take the battery out while the device is on), should correct that issue. But, it might be a temporary fix...
    09-16-07 02:55 PM
    Thank you for your response and I should have stated in my post that I have tried a soft reset (pullling the battery out) and a hard reset and I still am having the issue.
    09-16-07 02:58 PM
    This is most likely a problem of dirt or lint inside the trackball mechanism. Try using some canned air and blow into the trackball socket while pushing down on the ball, this worked for me.
    09-17-07 01:47 PM
    I've had mine almost two weeks and this morning I had the exact problem you described - left, right and up work fine, just no down. That can really put a crimp in your day.

I guess there is another trip to vz land in my future.
    10-01-07 06:12 PM
    Mine stopped going to the right. I had a rather undelicate "fix." I mashed the living crap out of it and cursed and then I mashed it some more and then blew on the track ball as hard as I could. Works like a charm, lol.
    10-01-07 08:18 PM
    I think their was a post on rims site to firmly press down and scroll the trackball.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-02-07 12:31 AM