Total lie.
    Will there even be a 10.4?-how-disagree.jpg
    08-17-15 02:30 PM
    I have ignore BB news for about a year now, perfectly happy with my Z30. But was about to pick up a Passport SE when I stumbled across this thread.

As a former BB dev, I would have to agree, I no longer get emails telling me about BB10 dev sessions, etc. BB10 is better than anything out there, but it really doesn't matter if that app gap isn't closed. At this point the only way that gap gets closed is going Android. I would guess the only reason this move has not been announced is to not slow sales of current BB10 devices, and that if the slider does come out with BB10, it is simply because the Android solution wasn't ready for prime time yet.

To give android a BB10 feel would be great, but Android is a lot more resource hungry than BB10, so I am not looking forward to device slow down, and requiring beefy specs just to be able to run the OS. Also it would require a lot of changes to BB10-ize Android, meaning that the BB branch of Android would differ quite a bit. This means when new versions of android are released, the BB version releases will lag quite a bit as the official Android branch gets merged into the BB branch by BB. This goes for security updates too. (See the hell that Samsung users live with now.) Logistically it may not make sense, but I think it may be what is needed to recapture mind share of the public. I agree with points, that most Android manufacturers don't make money, but I am certain BB would not do an android version without a super secure QNX hyper visor meaning that it may be one of the first Android phones to get into places like the CIA, and be able to separate itself from the pack in that manner.