This function had nothing to do with BIS.

Why would they leave something so important out that has been on their devices for years?

Posted via CB10 on 10.1.0.4780
    09-16-13 09:54 PM
    No one???? Lol

Kinda scary that 150+ people responded to using the device's HDMI port to play video games, stream Netflix, and do training, but not 1 person responds to discussing the email functionalities (or lack thereof) of the BB10 devices as it relates to this post and Legacy devices.

Ohhh how the times have changed...

danprown likes this.
    09-17-13 02:14 AM
    I don't know
    09-17-13 02:34 AM
    My guess for the low response is that it's likely been discussed. Even if not, unless someone from BlackBerry has responded publicly, anything else is speculation.

As a software developer, my guess is it's just competing priorities. While it doesn't depend on BIS, it would still have to be implemented for BB10 - possibly with very little ability to reuse the BIS code. Hopefully it's not for lack of developers.

Posted via CB10
    09-17-13 03:10 AM
    The BBOS remote search was via BIS, as already noted above.
    I believe that Google's version of the IMAP protocol does not support remote search. Google cancelled the use of EAS (ActiveSync) for all accounts but paid Google Apps accounts at the end of January (coinciding with the BB10 release, ???). So, in my opinion, Google is the cause here.

But, since I'm able to sync all of my Gmail messages to my device, it isn't an inconvenience. My on-device search works just dandy.
    (And No, syncing my Gmail back to "forever" has no ill effects. After the initial sync, things settle down nicely -- no extra battery consumption, just a minor hit on available space.)
    09-17-13 06:53 AM
    A toy, not a tool...

Posted via CB10
    09-17-13 07:24 AM
    No one???? Lol