I seem to have a working google playstore after manually installing 3 apps from cobalt. I have installed Camper Mate (NZ Australia) and Google Maps but Camper Mate complains there is no Google services installed, and trying to install it fails, either through the automatic install or trying manually with several versions of apk. I think my z30 requires the 0.3.6 versions but I
    tried one or two 0.3.0 as well.
    The result is Camper Mate works except for displaying Maps.
    Possibly Google services is needed to link these things, though
    App Manager didn't find the Playstore installed version of Maps to delete and start again. I think I was able to delete Maps when I manually installed it by .apk
    Edit: OK it is visible in AppManager>Storage again now, Is this the only way to delete android apps? It seems indirect.
    I'm new to Android and Blackberry so have a bit to learn.
    The problem with searching the forums is version changes,
    so I can only pick up the drift of the previous problems.
    TIA Ron
    Last edited by ron_z30; 12-10-17 at 05:56 PM.
    12-10-17 05:44 PM
    The Android Runtime on your Z30 is a partial implementation of Android version 4.3 and is always going to be stuck at 4.3. The newest version of Android is now 8.0. Cobalt's software provides more compatibility, but can only go so far. Newer Android apps depend more on Google Services which cannot be installed on BB10. If you can't patch or work around it, your app is not going to work.
    Last edited by BB-JAM215; 12-10-17 at 06:08 PM.
    12-10-17 05:57 PM
    The author of Camper Mate is here in NZ and will talk, but what options would he have?
    I tried installing an .apk for Lucky Patcher, but that failed to install.
    There could be other Android phone users with version 4.3 perhaps?
    Ron
    12-10-17 06:07 PM
    ... There could be other Android phone users with version 4.3 perhaps?
    Ron