Dear Mods

Please remove this thread if found ineligible.

The idea is to seek out external help for unlocking/modification of BB10 OS to accommodate updated Android APIs/framework for greater/better android apps support on BB10 devices.

This might help with better performance and greater compatibility of Android apps/services.

PS: I am not a developer.

Thanks
    Adi
    01-20-18 12:04 PM
    Dear Mods

The idea is to seek out external help for unlocking/modification of BB10 OS to accommodate updated Android APIs/framework for greater/better android apps support on BB10 devices.

This might help with better performance and greater compatibility of Android apps/services.

Thanks
    Adi
    Can't be done. Per OHA, BB is stuck at 4.3 or API level 18.
    01-20-18 12:08 PM
    Dear Mods

Thanks
    Adi
    you'll have to figure your own solution out if you want to keep using this OS. Web api's are great depending on what you want to do, but Android, Google, Microsoft etc.. no one is looking at bb10 anymore.

Posted via CB10
    01-22-18 11:55 AM
    I was asking if a community driven modification project is possible. Like a custom ROM and such to add more compatibility for android apps/api's.
    01-22-18 11:57 AM
    I was asking if a community driven modification project is possible. Like a custom ROM and such to add more compatibility for android apps/api's.
    Custom ROMs only work with the combination of accessible hardware (unlocked bootloaders, allowing unsigned firmware) and available software (not just an open source OS, but also available firmware blobs). BB10 has neither.

And yes, the OHA gets in the way of just updating the Android runtime.
    01-22-18 12:01 PM
    No its not possible.

Posted via CB10
    01-22-18 12:31 PM
    will not happen

Posted via CB10
    01-22-18 03:41 PM
    I was asking if a community driven modification project is possible.
    It's not.
    01-22-18 03:50 PM