Good afternoon to all blackberry fans)
    I am new in blackberry.
    I have tried hard to find some kind of firewall for Internet connection but fail(
    Looking for smth like OperaMax in android or DroidWall...
    The problem is I am going abroad and need to restrict data usage to email and messenger only. Even if apply parental control and disable browser etc, I noticed some data leak. About 2 mb for night compared to 200 kb in android with only messenger running(
    Any suggestions?
    Need your help

Posted via CB10
    07-31-17 05:32 AM
    I think the only option is in the permissions....

I know 3rd Party Android Firewalls won't work, and back years ago when BB10 was still relevant some wanted this type of control. But it was said BlackBerry's APIs would not allow it.

Disable the Mobile Data permissions for all but "key" apps. But the OS itself is going to call home....
    07-31-17 09:55 AM
    But how can I do that?
    In app permissions there is no Internet permission. There are location, shared files, camera... but there is no Internet(. I have read that it was in previous version of blackberry os but not in 10.3(
    It seems like this permission can be removed with Native SDK development tool. But as long as I understood it can be done with BAR file. And then installed... but it's not acceptable for me because there is need of basic knowledge of Native SDK, laptop, and install bar files(((

Posted via CB10
    07-31-17 10:13 AM
    There were a lot of these features in BBOS, but many of them were only valued by a few users and were not implemented in BB10. If the OS had survived things may have been different. Your best bet, and what I do is turn off mobile data and just use Wi-Fi. Make sure all the services you use are used TLS connections and you should be fine.

LeapSTR100-2/10.3.3.2205
    07-31-17 11:53 AM
    Thanks for reply)
    I am sorry what is TLS and how does it help with data leak?

Posted via CB10
    07-31-17 02:39 PM