Quick question
    When I am in the car the line in volume appears. If I am playing by headphones the headphones volume appears.

How does it differentiate the two? The same jack analog plug is used. Or not?...
    How does my phone know it is connected to line in or headphones?-img_20170308_064542.png
    How does my phone know it is connected to line in or headphones?-img_20170308_061855.png

Posted via CB10
    03-07-17 10:55 PM
    I think Line-Connections need less voltage than headphones. Headphones in general need more voltage and amplification than line-connections.

I realised that when I connected Headphones to Line-Out on my MiniDisc Walkman.

Posted via CB10
    paulie_iwin likes this.
    03-08-17 12:42 AM
    Most likely it can sense the impedance of the load, and adjust its output accordingly.
    03-08-17 04:02 AM
    Line In is a one way street, Line Out is a two way street? That's my guess. I have no tech knowledge in this aspect. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Posted via CB10
    03-08-17 05:00 AM
    Ok thank you.

I wondered how BB10 differentiates the two because on my work phone - WP8 it just says Headphones in both cases.

Thanks again.
    03-08-17 05:51 AM
    Well, BB10 is still smarter :P

Posted via CB10
    03-09-17 10:55 AM
    Most likely it can sense the impedance of the load, and adjust its output accordingly.
    That would be the correct answer. Modern phones look for a particular impedance range and knows it's a Line Out when it find it. Otherwise, it will assume headphones, which can have a wide range of impedances.
    paulie_iwin likes this.
    03-09-17 02:51 PM
    Ahem... Number of contacts on jack maybe? Headphones usually have four (ground, left and right channels, microphone), line out - three

Posted via CB10
    03-10-17 01:35 AM
    Ahem... Number of contacts on jack maybe? Headphones usually have four (ground, left and right channels, microphone), line out - three

Posted via CB10