Something that people are failing to realize...
    Even if an app is not "Active", if it uses push, you will still know what is going on.
    Everything will be going through the hub, no need to have fb, twitter, Gtalk, etc open.
    And when you open an app, its fractions of a second to open and load all content.
    Why do you NEED more than 8 "Active" apps?

This is perfectly acceptable to me, and I am a "Power User", I can kill a battery in 4 hours ;-)
    And so there are no negative comments about what I know or don't know, I am a software engineer
    and a BlackBerry Dev.
    sf49ers and jesse_h like this.
    10-26-12 11:58 AM

This is perfectly acceptable to me, and I am a "Power User",...
    So, yet another person who believes that since they do not need something, neither does anyone else? :-(

Once ALL apps save ALL state, so that by reopening them they return precisely to the point where they were, in all respects, then maybe I'll conclude that I don't need to have certain apps stay open, so that when I switch back to them an hour later they are exactly how I left them.

Also, the comment about "push" is a red herring... you're assuming the only interesting apps are those which function to let you consume incoming social media or messages. How will Battery Guru take advantage of "push" to do anything useful for you? How will an app whose purpose is to monitor and record your location as you travel? That data doesn't arrive via "push", obviously. (Note: I just used up 2 of the 8 positions available, without hardly trying. I could carry on...)

It's an arbitrary limit, and BB10 shouldn't be subject to arbitrary limits like that. It limits the user, and limits the possibilities for developer innovation.
    Qaxl and dkonigs like this.
    10-26-12 10:56 PM
    Something that people are failing to realize...
    Even if an app is not "Active", if it uses push, you will still know what is going on.