1. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    Since I installed 10.3.1, my previously hidden folders now appear in the media apps like the Pictures app and the Videos app.

    UPDATE:
    For some reason, the ".nomedia" file I had placed in the folder I wanted to hide was deleted. As soon as I put it back there, it worked.

    The new "hide" feature in 10.3.1 is good but the nomedia method to hide entire folders is faster and you don't have to set it then unset it.

    If there was a "select all" option, then the 10.3.1 "hide" feature would be better. As it stands, you have to tap each and every file to hide it.
    Last edited by PatrickMJS; 03-11-15 at 05:48 PM.
    03-11-15 01:51 PM
  2. BigRob673's Avatar
    With pictures you can select hide, but I'm not sure about videos.

    10.3.1 "sniff" kills the Pepple and other batteries
    03-11-15 02:40 PM
  3. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    See update above.

    Posted via CB10
    03-11-15 05:48 PM
  4. FrankIAm's Avatar
    See update above.

    Posted via CB10
    Can confirm, I've been using .nomedia files for a while without failure.
    03-11-15 05:54 PM
  5. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    How do u make .nomedia folder

    Posted via CB10
    03-26-15 11:56 AM
  6. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    If you have a windows computer, use it to make a file called ".nomedia"

    I just right click on the desktop and select "new file" and just specify that name (without the quotation marks).

    Then, copy and paste that file to whichever folders on your memory card you DON'T want the pictures and videos to appear when using the Pictures app and Videos app on your phone. By doing this, the only way to see the pictures and videos in those folders is to browse there using the File Manager app and open them individually.

    Posted via CB10
    03-26-15 04:51 PM
  7. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    If you have a windows computer, use it to make a file called ".nomedia"

    I just right click on the desktop and select "new file" and just specify that name (without the quotation marks).

    Then, copy and paste that file to whichever folders on your memory card you DON'T want the pictures and videos to appear when using the Pictures app and Videos app on your phone. By doing this, the only way to see the pictures and videos in those folders is to browse there using the File Manager app and open them individually.

    Posted via CB10
    thank you for the reply but .nomedia file isn't hiding any folder then showing in picture app?
    03-27-15 12:52 PM
  8. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    Could you please reword your question? I have no idea what you are asking.

    Posted via CB10
    03-27-15 05:13 PM
  9. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    Could you please reword your question? I have no idea what you are asking.

    Posted via CB10
    Well I have made a .nomedia file on desktop computer and then place it in my photo folder in device memory and then another file in SD Card. But all my photos are still showing up in my main picture app.

    I have rebooted my device twice as well.

    Any suggestions

    Posted via CB10
    03-28-15 11:58 AM
  10. thurask's Avatar
    You could try using an app on your device to make nomedia files.

    Like this bar file: https://github.com/thurask/invisicon...on-1_0_0_1.bar

    Posted via CB10
    03-28-15 12:27 PM
  11. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    You could try using an app on your device to make nomedia files.

    Like this bar file: https://github.com/thurask/invisicon...on-1_0_0_1.bar

    Posted via CB10
    Thanks Thurask the great for your reply. Could you please let me know how can I use this app?

    Posted via CB10
    03-28-15 12:36 PM
  12. thurask's Avatar
    Thanks Thurask the great for your reply. Could you please let me know how can I use this app?

    Posted via CB10
    Download bar in link, sideload, open.

    Pick a folder and hit "Create" if you want to add a nomedia file.

    Posted via CB10
    03-28-15 12:43 PM
  13. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    Download bar in link, sideload, open.

    Pick a folder and hit "Create" if you want to add a nomedia file.

    Posted via CB10
    I have sideloaded the app but when I open it it only gives me that screen, now how to proceed
    Doesn't .nomedia work anymore?-img_20150330_112618.png

    Posted via CB10
    03-30-15 01:27 AM
  14. thurask's Avatar
    I have sideloaded the app but when I open it it only gives me that screen, now how to proceed
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150330_112618.png 
Views:	339 
Size:	6.4 KB 
ID:	344588

    Posted via CB10
    Herp derp, wrong app. That's for blank icons.

    https://github.com/thurask/nomedia/r...ia-1_0_0_1.bar is for nomedia.

    Posted via CB10
    Magnetox likes this.
    03-30-15 07:47 AM
  15. Khizer Hayat2's Avatar
    Herp derp, wrong app. That's for blank icons.

    https://github.com/thurask/nomedia/r...ia-1_0_0_1.bar is for nomedia.

    Posted via CB10
    Thanks Thurask the great and nice app

    Posted via CB10
    03-30-15 01:55 PM
  16. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    Thurask is a champ, indeed.

    Posted via CB10
    03-30-15 06:01 PM
  17. Jon Ryder's Avatar
    Well it seems that 10.3.2 is ignoring. Nomedia files, either by design or a bug in the beta leak

    Posted via CB10
    04-12-15 07:48 PM

Similar Threads

  1. How do I get my BlackBerry Classic lower speaker working?
    By jpye19 in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-15, 01:53 PM
  2. Z 10 Newbie - What Andriod Apps work on Z10?
    By tracks914 in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-15, 10:34 AM
  3. Blackberry Classic - Amazon Android App Not Working
    By Jason Byers in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-15, 02:40 PM
  4. Why doesn't my email appear in the BlackBerry Hub?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-15, 11:21 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-15, 08:18 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD