1. David Crean's Avatar
    Anybody know if there's a working version of Google Voice for BB10? Have all of Cobalt's stuff, and have installed the latest APK, and whitelisted it (patcher said it didn't need to be patched.) Won't let me login. Thanks for any help.
    08-04-17 10:32 AM
  2. conite's Avatar
    Anybody know if there's a working version of Google Voice for BB10? Have all of Cobalt's stuff, and have installed the latest APK, and whitelisted it (patcher said it didn't need to be patched.) Won't let me login. Thanks for any help.
    The Google app absolutely needs to be patched.

    Make sure your Patcher folder is just off the root directory on your computer, use the latest apktool, and stick with default settings.
    08-04-17 11:20 AM
  3. DreadPirateRegan's Avatar
    Thank you conite thank you sooo much.
    Conite really is the man, super helpful dude whom don't take no **** (He needs a raise) but, hey - he can patch anything if it can be done and your not sure, he's the one to ask.... I probably wouldn't be on blackberry "still" if not for him. Plus he puts up with me via PM and I know I can get a little.... hmm, excited although others would use another word. Hah.

    I remember he got me Cell411 to work which was amazing but lost that since. It wasn't your "basic patch"...

    Anyway, on topic was curious if there is plans or even plans to have plans (haha) for redoing newer versions of @cobalts reverse engineered apps for BB10 as in if ever needed. I have to send another donation as been awhile. He is a true blue grey hat as didn't charge a dime (he could of made allot) but folks should donate least once. JS. What he did for US was HUGE!

    BTW: Cobalt is like the BlackBerry version of Chainfire and if any of you all are into rooting/hacking with Android or even toying around you know that name Chainfire! Hey, what is with all the C names!

    Good thing I didn't use my last name Cappa!

    Anyway,
    Will they stop working anytime soon or is this unknown and all just depends on what android does with each new big version?...

    Maybe we will get it when android O is officially announced. Prance cream anyone? I'm sure cobalt knows when the play store gets a "big update" a.k.a. HUGE versus something small and not worth all that work to re engineer them. With me asking this, I know we don't need it now and I am grateful for the full function we have but was just curious and talk allot so figured I'd shoot the question off here in the appropriate thread.

    Again, Cobalt could of charged us all money (he left it up to us) for this but didn't, that's a true blue "hacker type" that usually doesn't surface. DONATE! Can somebody link the donate button here for me again also.. always forget how I did so originally. I love how inside of Chainfire apps you can always go fully pro and no ads but you must click a button that says "I'm a freeloader" HaH!

    All hail the two C's...


    -DPR


    Posted via CB10
    BigBadWulf likes this.
    08-04-17 11:50 AM
  4. pavanbhokray's Avatar
    Conite really is the man, super helpful dude whom don't take no **** (He needs a raise) but, hey - he can patch anything if it can be done and your not sure, he's the one to ask.... I probably wouldn't be on blackberry "still" if not for him. Plus he puts up with me via PM and I know I can get a little.... hmm, excited although others would use another word. Hah.

    I remember he got me Cell411 to work which was amazing but lost that since. It wasn't your "basic patch"...

    Anyway, on topic was curious if there is plans or even plans to have plans (haha) for redoing newer versions of @cobalts reverse engineered apps for BB10 as in if ever needed. I have to send another donation as been awhile. He is a true blue grey hat as didn't charge a dime (he could of made allot) but folks should donate least once. JS. What he did for US was HUGE!

    BTW: Cobalt is like the BlackBerry version of Chainfire and if any of you all are into rooting/hacking with Android or even toying around you know that name Chainfire! Hey, what is with all the C names!

    Good thing I didn't use my last name Cappa!

    Anyway,
    Will they stop working anytime soon or is this unknown and all just depends on what android does with each new big version?...

    Maybe we will get it when android O is officially announced. Prance cream anyone? I'm sure cobalt knows when the play store gets a "big update" a.k.a. HUGE versus something small and not worth all that work to re engineer them. With me asking this, I know we don't need it now and I am grateful for the full function we have but was just curious and talk allot so figured I'd shoot the question off here in the appropriate thread.

    Again, Cobalt could of charged us all money (he left it up to us) for this but didn't, that's a true blue "hacker type" that usually doesn't surface. DONATE! Can somebody link the donate button here for me again also.. always forget how I did so originally. I love how inside of Chainfire apps you can always go fully pro and no ads but you must click a button that says "I'm a freeloader" HaH!

    All hail the two C's...


    -DPR


    Posted via CB10
    Yes because of cobalt and conite we are able to use android apps in bb10 phone. Yes we have to donate even I too donate twice. I am very glad to cobalt and conite because of them only I am using my great Z30.
    DreadPirateRegan likes this.
    08-05-17 12:46 PM
  5. karthik binnu's Avatar
    Yes because of cobalt and conite we are able to use android apps in bb10 phone. Yes we have to donate even I too donate twice. I am very glad to cobalt and conite because of them only I am using my great Z30.
    Yes exactly

    Posted via  Passport # SQW 100-1,Os. Version 10.3.3.2205.
    DreadPirateRegan likes this.
    08-05-17 12:48 PM
  6. Ginowine's Avatar
    Hi Cobalt.

    Please help ...

    Your patched Google Play Games app version doesn't work anymore. It crashes often. I'm getting stuck when I trying to open it recently.

    Can you update the GPGames app for BB10 devices please?

    Posted via CB10
    08-08-17 10:53 AM
  7. DreadPirateRegan's Avatar
    Hi Cobalt.

    Please help ...

    Your patched Google Play Games app version doesn't work anymore. It crashes often. I'm getting stuck when I trying to open it recently.

    Can you update the GPGames app for BB10 devices please?

    Posted via CB10




    Working for me wonder if it's an issue to your particular device or install. Maybe try to uninstall and reinstall it all? I just checked and worked perfect. If he's going to backwards engineer all that again he's probably going to wait for a solid Android O version or greater unless of course it does stop working. Good Luck Paging @Cobalt232



    Posted via CB10
    08-08-17 04:20 PM
  8. Phasmatic's Avatar
    Hi
    Do Google keep and one note work? If yes can I know or get the link to download the working ones,thanks
    Os 10.3.3

    Posted Via My Passport (AT&T)
    08-09-17 12:14 PM
  9. joeldf's Avatar
    Hi
    Do Google keep and one note work? If yes can I know or get the link to download the working ones,thanks
    Os 10.3.3

    Posted Via My Passport (AT&T)
    OneNote does not need patching. That can be downloaded and installed directly from the Play Store.
    08-09-17 01:29 PM
  10. Phasmatic's Avatar
    OneNote does not need patching. That can be downloaded and installed directly from the Play Store.
    Thank you. What about Google Keep?

    Posted Via My Passport (AT&T)
    08-09-17 02:58 PM
  11. joeldf's Avatar
    Thank you. What about Google Keep?

    Posted Via My Passport (AT&T)
    I have no idea - don't use it. I'll let someone else answer that.... @conite?
    08-09-17 04:20 PM
  12. Tornado99's Avatar
    Can I get a quick answer to the correct order of installing of the 7 Cobalt apk's for a fresh install to my Z30? The first post instructions do not list the actual apk names as far as I can tell. No "Google Account Manager" file for example.

    Thanks.
    08-09-17 05:02 PM
  13. DreadPirateRegan's Avatar
    Can I get a quick answer to the correct order of installing of the 7 Cobalt apk's for a fresh install to my Z30? The first post instructions do not list the actual apk names as far as I can tell. No "Google Account Manager" file for example.

    Thanks.
    @Cobalt232 if google play services 10.8.xxx anyway, your version that's reverse engineered and can't be updated nor patched keeps crashing on certain apps, then runs fine other times. Either right after a restart or maybe after no restart for awhile it'll crash or say it'll Say: "wait or close" for an app like voxer that depends on it. Is this a product of this getting older or just something I never realized prior or do I try a reinstall of just services or would that be bad to just do delete services and reinstall? Thanks, Stephen

    BTW: I didn't know was an order. I installed them!

    Posted via CB10
    08-09-17 05:25 PM
  14. Tornado99's Avatar
    I guess I'm figuring it out...but from the original post, it never states what the file names are for each of the different components the instructions describe. Easy for lay-people like me to be confused.
    As you said, doesn't seem to matter order of install...
    08-09-17 05:33 PM
  15. conite's Avatar
    I guess I'm figuring it out...but from the original post, it never states what the file names are for each of the different components the instructions describe. Easy for lay-people like me to be confused.
    As you said, doesn't seem to matter order of install...
    Install and login with 4.3.3.
    Install and register with 2.8.
    Install Play Services v10.
    Update 4.4.4 over 4.3.3 (but don't open).

    Install Play Store v6

    Install whitelist 1.0.0.6.

    If an app requires Google Play Services:
    Download app with Cobalt's Play Store (but don't install).
    Whitelist unpatched app.
    Patch app on PC with Play Services Patcher 1.6 using defaults settings.

    Install patched app.
    08-09-17 05:52 PM
  16. conite's Avatar
    Thank you. What about Google Keep?

    Posted Via My Passport (AT&T)
    Patch it.
    08-09-17 05:52 PM
  17. Wolfgan's Avatar
    Thank you. What about Google Keep?
    Keep starts OK patched, but crashes oftenly when editing notes.

    Posted via CB10
    08-09-17 06:44 PM
  18. Caluz78's Avatar
    You have to use not the latest version of Keep. I'm using 3.2.505 with no problems.
    08-10-17 06:49 AM
  19. wingnut666's Avatar
    there may be some truth to the complaints of battery drain..
    I have had the older version of cobalt's solution installed and working happily for over a year...but recently I updated to his latest version.
    I would previously kill off all the related processes when not using the play store and they would stay dead until I ran the app. now, the process for google id keeps respawning and will not stay dead.(call of duty?)

    the google id app clearly consumes processor, battery, and memory.
    why oh why wont it just die? cobalt? can you fix this?

    Posted via CBX
    08-10-17 08:20 AM
  20. conite's Avatar
    there may be some truth to the complaints of battery drain..
    I have had the older version of cobalt's solution installed and working happily for over a year...but recently I updated to his latest version.
    I would previously kill off all the related processes when not using the play store and they would stay dead until I ran the app. now, the process for google id keeps respawning and will not stay dead.(call of duty?)

    the google id app clearly consumes processor, battery, and memory.
    why oh why wont it just die? cobalt? can you fix this?

    Posted via CBX
    Android apps do not run in the background on BB10.

    By running a task manager, it simply wakes the service. It goes back to sleep as soon as you quit the task manager.
    08-10-17 11:04 AM
  21. wingnut666's Avatar
    i'm not using the android task manager

    Posted via CBX
    08-10-17 11:16 AM
  22. conite's Avatar
    i'm not using the android task manager

    Posted via CBX
    Well, whatever you are using that makes you think it's running in the background is only waking the service while you make your query. Otherwise, it doesn't run.
    08-10-17 11:27 AM
  23. wingnut666's Avatar
    conite, you've been immersed in adroid for too long. i'm using device monitor. this is bb10. it tracks app behaviour. i've explained the issue, i'm hoping it can be fixed otherwise I will move back to the version that didnt continually respawn and waste resources.


    Posted via CBX
    08-10-17 11:32 AM
  24. conite's Avatar
    conite, you've been immersed in adroid for too long. i'm using device monitor. this is bb10. it tracks app behaviour. i've explained the issue, i'm hoping it can be fixed otherwise I will move back to the version that didnt continually respawn and waste resources.


    Posted via CBX
    Android does NOT run in the background on BB10. Period. Here is Cobalt's explanation:


    "Oh I love this question about Android apps eating up battery in the background. What I'm telling you now is backed up by the Blackberry Developer Site and is valid for ANY Android app on your device:

    From the Blackberry developer docs about the Blackberry Android runtime (Jelly Bean):
    * Apps can run services only while the user runs them, either in full screen or in thumbnail mode.
    * https://developer.blackberry.com/and..._software.html

    What does that mean? The Blackberry Android runtime does NOT allow Android apps to run any services in the background. Period. As soon as the screen goes off (battery saving mode, sleep mode), ANY Android app will stop working in the background. A good example to explain this may be light in your fridge. Everytime you open the door of your fridge, the light is on, right? So we must assume, that the light in the fridge is permanently on? No, it's not. It's triggered when you open the door and it goes off when you close the door.

    The only way to get an Android app to run permanently in the background is to implement Blackberry Headless mode. This must be requested from blackberry, and usually those apps are then ONLY avaliable on Blackberry World as a ported Android app (an example is Skype). All other Android apps that you download from anywhere else do NOT incorporate Headless mode and CANNOT run in the background.

    Now I already hear all the "specialists" that are saying "Hey, but I'm running task manager xyz and there are a lot of services running on my device and I cleaned them and now everything is great"

    Well, that simply isn't true. Running a task manager app is just like opening the door on the fridge. The light is now on. But if you close the taskmanager and the device goes to sleep, all services are stopped again.

    The second thing that you should know about background services is, that against the common believe, they do not RUN in the background. They register a trigger in the Android runtime. The registering service itself is not running. Now if the Android runtime receives an Intent, it will look if a services was registered for the intent and THEN will start the service. The service will do its work (i.e. sync data) and then close again. On a Blackberry device, this will only happen if:

    a) The device is NOT in sleepmode
    b) The app is open OR running in an active Frame

    If those conditions are not met, nothing happens. No services is started."
    08-10-17 11:49 AM
  25. wingnut666's Avatar
    i'm guessing you've never opened device monitor.

    Posted via CBX
    08-10-17 12:07 PM
9,507 ... 349350351352353 ...

Similar Threads

  1. Which android app you want to run on your BlackBerry
    By amritanshu singh in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 116
    Last Post: 05-19-18, 10:54 AM
  2. Will the amazon app store kill the blackberry world app store?
    By Allgoodnicknamesaretaken in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-28-15, 11:23 AM
  3. Getting the PayPal app for my new Passport?
    By JVRudnick in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-22-14, 10:29 PM
  4. Facebook & Crackberry Apps on Passport
    By UKAsh in forum CrackBerry Apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-14, 10:43 PM
  5. BB Link type App for iphone 6 - ipad ??
    By Chopper110 in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-06-14, 04:01 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD