I need to preface this by saying that my knowledge of mobile devices, device management, and device software is limited. I am an independent physician who is a long-time user of BlackBerry devices, and am currently still in love with my Passport and BB10. Since I have staff privileges at several area hospitals, each of which are owned by competing health systems and each of which provide physicians an email address to receive their communications, that has contributed to the fact that I now have six different email accounts.

One of these health systems last year began using Citrix WorxMail for mobile email. Using Snap I was able to add their Android app just fine, and made sure to let their IT department know this since the instructions they sent to all hospital employees and physicians only mentioned iPhones and Android devices. Notifications of new emails would show up in the hub, but then I needed to open the app to view the email. Not ideal as compared to my other email accounts, but the hospital IT folks were surprised that it even worked on my BlackBerry. I can't believe anyone would want to get their email each time through an app. Regardless, now today they announced that they are switching to Bitglass for mobile device management, a company of which I had previously not heard of:

cloud access security broker | bitglass

Again I am by far no expert in this area but it looks to be BlackBerry's turf.

My understanding of the hospital's new email system is that they are using Microsoft ActiveSync, and the Bitglass servers for security.