Hi everyone,

I am a software developer and I just posted my first app - it was a flop. It was a flop not because of Blackberry, but simply because I realized that I can't imagine many people find a use for it just yet (hindsight is always 20/20). I have some great ideas on how to improve it, but I'd rather start a new project in the meantime and wait on the idea. I won't go into the details of the app, but let's just say it wasn't an RSS feed.

I really like making social apps and I have decent server infrastructure that I can scale for my needs. So my idea is an app that I will likely call BargainBlitz. It will be a location based app in which people can post bargains (at a store, at a garage sale, anywhere really) and others can benefit from those bargains. It will only show bargains that are posted withing perhaps 50 - 100 km (30 - 60 miles) of where you are located.

So basically bargain scouts are people that post a bargain and a bargain hunter is someone that makes a purchase based on this bargain. It will simply consist of a list of bargains, and categories such as retail, food, electronics, garage sale, etc... and of course time stamped.

I see alot of complaining about there not being enough apps in BB world, so if you guys want to work together with developers like myself as to what you'd like to see, then we can build AppWorld up together. I know these are trying times for Blackberry, but let's focus on the positive and come up with some cool ideas ourselves, without relying on big time app producers that don't seem to really care about the platform.

So with that said, I wanted to get your input - is this an app you would use? What are your ideas for the app if you'd use it?

I don't want to keep making apps that don't work out, so I am taking the approach of getting your input before proceeding this time.
    RoboticGolem and Miss_80 like this.
    08-22-13 04:05 PM
    I think this would be an awesome idea. I'd def use it.
    08-22-13 04:15 PM