I am new to smartphones and starting with a Z10. I installed some apps and realized that apps try to get my permission to access my everything: all files on my device, my camera, my microphone, my location, everything! A simple example is this CrackBerry 10 app that requires me to share my device files if I want to post a attach to my post. If I give this permission then they are permitted by me to steal all my files! Contacts! Text messages, everything. The secure way of uploading a picture is that when you try to attach it, you give permission to share that "single" file.

There are other popular apps that require your permission to have access to your microphone to give you a free Internet voice message service. This means that they can turn on your microphone any time without you knowing and listen to you when talking to your family and friends or when you are in a meeting!

See the and read the "application permissions" section in your device settings for more examples.

So, where goes the security that blackberry is famous for??

You may say don't install those ****s. But I think a secure OS shouldn't let such applications being installed. Even more they shouldn't let such apps apear in BlackBerry World at all.
    Not everybody notices that applications do anything they want with their documents. I, myself, didn't notice at first! Also I think it is not cool for a famous secure OS and device to say to costumers okay we offer non-secure things, you watch out and take care of your privacy.

What is your takes on this?

Posted via CB10
    09-09-13 04:34 AM