Hello I am fairly new to Crackberry and also new to the stock market. I own a little bit of stock in Blackberry because I know how efficient a Blackberry device can be. I've switched from a Sprint BlackBerry to an Iphone 5 about 6 months ago and I am really missing the efficiency that my BlackBerry gave me. I will be switching to the Q10 once it releases in the U.S.

My question is about "shorters" of Blackberry. From my understanding they are betting that the stock falls am I correct? Can someone tell me at what price they are betting the stock price to fall? Basically, can someone please explain to me how they will win and how they will lose?
    03-28-13 02:52 PM
    03-28-13 03:14 PM
    Briefly, you can sell a stock short (that is, sell it without actually having bought it) at any time (with a few limitations). Short sellers 'borrow' the shares from something called the 'loan post' (I won't get into the details here), and then they sell to whoever is bidding for the stock.

So now they have borrowed i.e. 1000 shares and sold them, let's say at $15. They hope the price goes down. If the price goes down to $12, they can buy shares to replace the ones they have borrowed. In this case, they will have sold 1000 @ $15 and will buy them back for $12, making a profit of $3 per share. As long as there are shares available to borrow, you can short a stock at any price you want.

They lose when they sell the stock at $15 and instead of going down, it goes up. Remember, they borrowed the 1000 shares and they have to replace them (there are several rules that determine when they must replace them. On liquid stocks they can hold them indefinitely as long as they have enough cash in their account). If the share price goes too high, they may have to buy the stock back at i.e. $20 before it goes any higher. So they end up with a $5 loss per share.