I have a lower case "uma" in the top right hand corner of my Bold 9700. I understand a lower case "uma" means I have limited connectivity or that I am not connected properly or something?

My internet browser, BB Messenger and Facebook App is now not working and I think the lower case "uma" might have something to do with it. It was working fine the other day, super fast and stuff so how can I fix this?

Would really appreciate it

Thanks!

(p.s sorry i'm a newbie that's why i have all these questions)
    01-11-10 01:47 PM
    As the immortal Aristile used to say, search is your friend.

Theres no way to 'fix' this, it could be your signal or any # of things.

Try a battery pull to start.

Does it happen in one place or all the time?
    Last edited by lazerus; 01-11-10 at 01:58 PM.
    01-11-10 01:52 PM
    UPPER CASE = CONNECTED
    lower case = not connected

EDGE /= edge
    EDGE > edge
    EDGE is good
    edge is bad

Here's a partial breakdown of what you can generally do under some of the different coverage indicators:

EDGE: Can use the phone, send and receive email, PINs, SMS texts, and MMS messages, and use the browser with a high-speed data connection.

GPRS: Can use the phone, send and receive emails, PINs, SMS texts, and MMS messages, and use the browser.

edge/gprs/GSM: Can use the phone, send and receive SMS texts and MMS messages.

SOS: Only emergency calls (dialing '112' will connect you to any existing carrier coverage to complete the call if you're outside your own carrier's coverage area).
    01-11-10 01:53 PM
    i'm on my services statuses and it says i am connected with a uma in capital letters in brackets like (UMA) but under mobile network it just says uma
    01-11-10 01:57 PM