I am new to this model, it's pretty cool where it senses the holster to turn on and off - how does that work? Is it the magnet?
    07-14-09 06:10 PM
    You're correct. Magnet.
    07-14-09 06:11 PM
    To be more accurate, it goes into sleep mode...not off.
    Conserves power.
    07-14-09 06:13 PM
    If you want to be even more accurate, it's called standby mode, not sleep mode, even though it's essentially the same thing.
    07-14-09 06:15 PM
    To be more accurate, it goes into sleep mode...not off.
    Conserves power.
    speaking of sleep mode, i assume you can either press the top right button or just let it time-out in 30 seconds or so?
    07-14-09 06:17 PM
    No. To enter standby mode you must either put the device into the holster or press and hold the mute key on the top right. Letting the device time-out will do nothing, just turn off the display until you press a button. Two different things.
    07-14-09 06:23 PM
    No. To enter standby mode you must either put the device into the holster or press and hold the mute key on the top right. Letting the device time-out will do nothing, just turn off the display until you press a button. Two different things.
    i'm confused, i always thought letting it time out in 30 secs or so will put it into standby mode - just like all cell phones?
    07-14-09 06:30 PM
    BlackBerrys aren't just regular cell phones, now are they?

But no, they don't work like that. Just letting it time out (unless you have a password set) will just turn off the display. If you want to see the difference between the two, let the device time out and then press random keys and watch what happens. Then put the device in standby mode and press random keys and see what happens.
    07-14-09 06:33 PM
    BlackBerrys aren't just regular cell phones, now are they?