05-04-14 11:11 PM
27 12
tools
  1. Steppschuh's Avatar
    This guide will teach you step-by-step how to install the new Android JellyBean runtime on your BlackBerry 10 device. Please follow the instructions carefully. If you dont feel familiar with the steps shown below, you should wait for an official update instead.


    Disclaimer
    You will install an unofficial operating system on your device, it will reset all your data and settings and comes with feature limitations. With the current leak (10.2.0.663) you wont be able to accept or make phone calls. I am not responsible for any damage or data loss your device may take.

    Backup your device
    Because you will lose your data, its inevitable that you make a full backup of your device. Connect your device via usb to your pc and open BlackBerry Link. Switch to your device, click settings and create a new backup.


    Once thats done, make sure that you really want to switch to a developer version of BB10. You may not be able to restore your backup on the new OS, however you can still downgrade to your previous OS and restore your backup.

    Get the developer OS
    You can download the 10.2.0.633 autoloader from here. Its an about 1GB large windows executable. Theres no way to install the OS using a Mac.
    (Source: CrackBerry Forums, thanks to Kris Simundson)

    Install BB10.2
    When you have the autoloader, connect your device via usb to your pc. Close BlackBerry Link and run the autoloader executable. A command window will popup and your device will restart itself. If your device is password protected, the autoloader will prompt you to enter your password now.


    The autoloader will now override your devices internal storage with the developer OS. When its finished, the command window will close itself and your device will reboot. It will now behave like after a factory reset, you will see the setup guide again.

    Enjoy the JellyBean runtime
    You are now able to use apps requiring the new API versions, you can sideload them like you are used to. The BB10 Sideloading Tool and the apps on bb10bars.net are ready for the new runtime. Keep in mind that there still are a few limitations, as you can read up here.
    Lendo and rizza_setyawan like this.
    07-20-13 09:59 AM
  2. Kris Simundson's Avatar
    Nice tutorial and pics
    07-20-13 10:03 AM
  3. habs_fan's Avatar
    Or you could use leak /10.2.0.483 and have voice call ect and then side load the Android bar file from .663
    Would be better since everything would work ie voice, plus u get the updated runtime


    Posted from my Z10STL100-3/10.2.0.483
    07-20-13 12:33 PM
  4. Dealz417's Avatar
    Great Guide! But I'm I the only one who read the title of this thread and instantly thought that this is a guide to sideload the JB runtime onto our current 10.0/10.1 OS

    Even after reading the first paragraph the dream is kept alive, but is then swiftly killed by the second paragraph!

    Wishful thinking... I know!

    Posted via CB10
    rebroker2009 and GeoB301 like this.
    07-20-13 04:03 PM
  5. dustmalik's Avatar
    Trust me, you are not the only one...lol

    Posted via CB10 using my Gorgeous Z10
    07-20-13 06:36 PM
  6. UnlimitedEra's Avatar
    Nice tutorial, but I will stick to 10.1 since I need phone calls

    Sent from my White BlackBerry STL100-02 Z10 running 10.1.0.4543 on Etisalat using Tapatalk 2!
    07-20-13 06:41 PM
  7. MobileMadness002's Avatar
    Nice tutorial, but I will stick to 10.1 since I need phone calls

    Sent from my White BlackBerry STL100-02 Z10 running 10.1.0.4543 on Etisalat using Tapatalk 2!
    Phone calls work just fine with 10.2.0.438 but whatever you decide. Enjoy.
    07-20-13 06:49 PM
  8. bhrgvr's Avatar
    Dont know where else to post... but how do I get back to my previous OS... I am currently on 10.1.0.4633 and want to get back to official release 10.1.0.2xxx on STL100-1... tried using link to do a security wipe but did not help... any other way? Detailed instructions would be nice.

    The problem that I am facing with the current version is that the calls drop midway at about 1 minute and i have to make the call again.
    07-22-13 07:08 AM
  9. Steppschuh's Avatar
    Dont know where else to post... but how do I get back to my previous OS... I am currently on 10.1.0.4633 and want to get back to official release 10.1.0.2xxx on STL100-1... tried using link to do a security wipe but did not help... any other way? Detailed instructions would be nice.

    The problem that I am facing with the current version is that the calls drop midway at about 1 minute and i have to make the call again.
    Just use one of the 10.1 autoloaders, have a look at the leaks forum.
    conico66 likes this.
    07-22-13 09:40 AM
  10. bhrgvr's Avatar
    Just use one of the 10.1 autoloaders, have a look at the leaks forum.
    thanks a lot...
    07-23-13 05:24 AM
  11. crackrockberry's Avatar
    So the only way to have an android runtime higher than the 2.2.3 from OS 10.1 is with OS 10.2?
    07-23-13 03:57 PM
  12. Steppschuh's Avatar
    So the only way to have an android runtime higher than the 2.2.3 from OS 10.1 is with OS 10.2?
    Exactly.
    07-23-13 05:51 PM
  13. marcieevee14's Avatar
    So reading into this,if I install this my voice calls won't work? I really want to try this but need my voice calls to work.

    Posted via CB10
    07-23-13 10:07 PM
  14. habs_fan's Avatar
    So reading into this,if I install this my voice calls won't work? I really want to try this but need my voice calls to work.

    Posted via CB10
    Holy cow people read the third post...
    Install 10.2.0.483 and everything will work.. And then install the Android bar file
    I have Done it and many others have and it works fine that way

    Posted from my Z10STL100-3/10.2.0.483
    MobileMadness002 likes this.
    07-23-13 10:11 PM
  15. MobileMadness002's Avatar
    So reading into this,if I install this my voice calls won't work? I really want to try this but need my voice calls to work.

    Posted via CB10
    You crack me up.

    Z10STL100-3/10.2.0.483, pin:2AC9A2F5
    07-23-13 10:31 PM
  16. marcieevee14's Avatar
    You crack me up.

    Z10STL100-3/10.2.0.483, pin:2AC9A2F5

    lmao i know right!? that was sooo funny how even though i read the thread and wanted to ask 1 simple question that could of been easily answered i still get bashed for it. this place is way worse than the android forums! all i see are negative comments everywhere.
    07-23-13 11:45 PM
  17. The Me's Avatar
    lmao i know right!? that was sooo funny how even though i read the thread and wanted to ask 1 simple question that could of been easily answered i still get bashed for it. this place is way worse than the android forums! all i see are negative comments everywhere.
    Don't take it too hard man, it's because in the leak forums, there were hundreds of posters who would ask questions that were answered in the OP, that's why. So now, we just don't want to deal with this anymore. If you want to sideload, you need time. Time to install and time to read about it yourself.

    Also, your question was answered in the 7th post. So, yes, your fault.

    That is all.

    Posted via CB10
    07-24-13 01:19 AM
  18. Zaid Amir's Avatar
    Hey! i upgraded to the latest leak of 10.2 and i still cant run any 4,2 Jelly Bean apps. I download bar files from bb10bars.net

    Temple Run 2: Temple Run 2 for BlackBerry - BB10 Bars
    Candy Crush Saga: Candy Crush Saga for BlackBerry - BB10 Bars

    Both arent working. I tried a couple of others too! Is there something wrong I'm doing? Like does something need to be configured before i can run these apps/games :S
    08-12-13 11:25 PM
  19. Steppschuh's Avatar
    Hey! i upgraded to the latest leak of 10.2 and i still cant run any 4,2 Jelly Bean apps. I download bar files from bb10bars.net

    Temple Run 2: Temple Run 2 for BlackBerry - BB10 Bars
    Candy Crush Saga: Candy Crush Saga for BlackBerry - BB10 Bars

    Both arent working. I tried a couple of others too! Is there something wrong I'm doing? Like does something need to be configured before i can run these apps/games :S
    10.2.0.1047 has the Android runtime in save mode, you need to sideload an other version of the runtime from an older leak. You can find the bar files for the runtime at the CrackBerry forums.
    08-13-13 05:39 AM
  20. gordwyne's Avatar
    Makes no sense to me..i try every latest version of os yet..stil can't install bar files..does that wil install won't open..m nw using version 10.2.0.1047.. tired of d autoloaders os versions..does any1 knw a particular version dat has d latest run time pls share..tnks

    Posted via CB10
    08-29-13 08:47 AM
  21. Steppschuh's Avatar
    Makes no sense to me..i try every latest version of os yet..stil can't install bar files..does that wil install won't open..m nw using version 10.2.0.1047.. tired of d autoloaders os versions..does any1 knw a particular version dat has d latest run time pls share..tnks
    Keep in mind that 10.2.0.1047 has the Android runtime in safe mode, more about that here:
    http://forums.crackberry.com/bb10-le...tweaks-835087/
    08-29-13 11:13 AM
  22. crucial bbq's Avatar
    Makes no sense to me..i try every latest version of os yet..stil can't install bar files..does that wil install won't open..m nw using version 10.2.0.1047.. tired of d autoloaders os versions..does any1 knw a particular version dat has d latest run time pls share..tnks

    Posted via CB10
    I experienced the same issue with a few of the leaked 10.2s. I ended up downloading a Jellybean runtime .rar, extracted it, side-loaded via the Chrome PlayBook extension, then rebooted. Now, it works like a charm....for the most part
    10-02-13 12:48 PM
  23. Masonle3's Avatar
    Really nice tutorial bro, helped alot. I can install the new 10.2.1 now, thanks. But how install you do the Radios on 10.2.1?

    Posted via CB10
    11-19-13 03:13 AM
  24. Scott Ayo-Okhiria's Avatar
    I need help. Just joined the Z10 family. After an up grade my camera won't start and my videos won't play

    Posted via CB10
    01-18-14 03:17 AM
  25. zocster's Avatar
    I need help. Just joined the Z10 family. After an up grade my camera won't start and my videos won't play

    Posted via CB10
    Welcome to CrackBerry, what version of stl is this you're having trouble with?

    Sent from what ever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
    01-18-14 03:26 AM
27 12

Similar Threads

  1. Does BB10 Have Push Notifications?
    By koolrosh in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-01-16, 04:51 PM
  2. Friends take on the Z10...ouch
    By jdr6000 in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 07-22-13, 09:32 AM
  3. BB10 HUB - Multi selection mode
    By BGQ10 in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-13, 10:01 AM
  4. Download APK problems due to new google play store update
    By bendiep1991 in forum BB10 Android App Sideloading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-13, 09:43 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD