1. Zam Z10's Avatar
    I am one of those experiencing the "camera can't be started" issue on my STL100-1, tried everything from sideloading various camera bars (from 10.2.0.xxx to 10.2.1.xxx) and all the device wipes, restores, autoloaders and official ota OS updates but the problem persisted. Even the hard reset only worked temporarily, until i read on this forum that some Android apps can affect the camera.

    So i deleted the only android app and the camera works perfectly for a few days. . . then i re-installed the android app and tested the camera, which worked but only until i used the app after which the problem began again.

    the android app is FIFA14,

    anyone know why this occurs or if there is a solution??
    03-13-14 08:36 AM
  2. pkcable's Avatar
    Clearly that app is the issue, dump it, move on, find other apps to love and use.
    03-13-14 11:06 PM
  3. Zam Z10's Avatar
    oh man, but i love fifa on the Z lol.
    03-14-14 07:36 AM
  4. djsvet's Avatar
    Have you tried killing the app from device manager?

    //Some forum moderators at some forums are like communist
    03-14-14 09:51 PM
  5. xales's Avatar
    Happened to me too..since then i dont use android apps but viber....i hope we get native apps...

    Posted via CB10
    03-15-14 06:23 AM
  6. Zam Z10's Avatar
    Have you tried killing the app from device manager?

    //Some forum moderators at some forums are like communist
    will try that, thanks
    03-16-14 07:55 AM
  7. ancadcc's Avatar
    I have the same problem when I'm using Snapchat. That's why now I use Snap2chat

    Posted via BlackBerry Z10 STL 100-1
    03-19-14 05:46 PM
  8. sickyute's Avatar
    I have the same problem when I'm using Snapchat. That's why now I use Snap2chat

    Posted via BlackBerry Z10 STL 100-1
    ^^This!

    Posted via CB10 running on Z10STL100-1/10.2.1.2228
    03-19-14 09:07 PM
  9. toobs623's Avatar
    Yeah killing the process should work. Also you can try simply holding down the x when you close the app.

    Posted via CB10
    03-20-14 06:51 PM
  10. Thesmartmale's Avatar
    I don't wanna surprise you guys but unfortunately it happens with native apps too, try wine and you will know what I mean

    Thanks to BlackBerry again for the ****ed up STL100-1

    Posted via CB10
    03-21-14 07:42 AM
  11. Gearheadaddy's Avatar
    Try checking your "permissions" in each app that seems to be giving you trouble...
    P.S. We can't blame BlackBerry for problems with installing apps after we have been warned there may be issues...(android apk's)

    Trusted Member Genius
    03-21-14 12:51 PM
  12. Thesmartmale's Avatar
    Try checking your "permissions" in each app that seems to be giving you trouble...
    P.S. We can't blame BlackBerry for problems with installing apps after we have been warned there may be issues...(android apk's)

    Trusted Member Genius
    I just said that it's also effected by wine which is a native app so yeah we can blame BlackBerry for this.

    Posted via CB10
    03-21-14 02:40 PM
  13. Zam Z10's Avatar
    Try checking your "permissions" in each app that seems to be giving you trouble...
    P.S. We can't blame BlackBerry for problems with installing apps after we have been warned there may be issues...(android apk's)

    Trusted Member Genius
    no ones blaming Blackberry, i just asked if anyone knows why this happens...
    03-27-14 06:45 AM
  14. Alooi Divona's Avatar
    It a known software issue blackberry should fix.

    It happens with android apps mostly but some native apps also.

    I experienced both and no solution for it only BlackBerry

    Posted via CB10
    Thesmartmale likes this.
    03-27-14 01:42 PM
  15. Muzz The Great's Avatar
    Hi, I'm having same issues with the camera since I upgraded from 10.1 to 10.2. Also STL100-1.
    I do have several android apps loaded but nothing that uses the camera. Funny thing is that I have a silly app "Mirror" (native app) which basically uses the front camera as a mirror, and this works intermittently, more often than the actual camera.
    So now I am considering downgrading to 10.1 again, and if that works, maybe try upgrade to 10.2 and see if that works. Anyone tried this? or can anyone suggest the best version of 10.1 to try?
    Thanks
    04-03-14 02:03 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Unlock Z10 - Koodo - Seamless
    By Donnamit in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-14, 07:38 PM
  2. Android data location
    By PowderJockey in forum BB10 Android App Sideloading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-14, 03:47 PM
  3. Group texting on 10.2.1
    By redmonke255 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-14, 05:29 AM
  4. Crackberry app
    By the_game969 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-13-14, 10:08 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD