1. Technarch's Avatar
    I just don't understand this.. I was messing about with both autoloaders and link today.. did a reset of the device with the volume key buttons and now while it powers up fine it no longer connects to BlackBerry or shows the BB icon. Tried autloading with other versions of the OS, but it doesn't connect to BB.. is it just me? Or is there an outage?
    07-25-15 09:04 PM
  2. XxWile_E_CoyotexX's Avatar
    No issues in MB. Are you sure you used the correct autoloader for your device?

    Posted via BlackBerry Z30 (OS 10.3.2.2339)
    07-25-15 09:14 PM
  3. Technarch's Avatar
    Yes.. and in fact, I tried to fix it by letting it do an OTA update.. 96 meg delta.. took forever.. now it says SR 10.3.2.2226, OS 10.3.2.2339 and radio 10.3.2.2340 and still no blackberry symbol..
    07-25-15 09:47 PM
  4. Technarch's Avatar
    I just put my sim into the Q5 that I definitely wasn't messing about much with, and no symbol there either. Though I did see it for a fraction of a second.. there must be an outage of some sort and this is just bad timing.
    07-25-15 09:56 PM
  5. Technarch's Avatar
    In settings it says "Unable to connect to the BlackBerry Protect service. Please try again later."
    07-25-15 10:05 PM
  6. Technarch's Avatar
    Ok, so I have the answer.. and I still don't understand why it happened.. the solution for this problem is to log into the blackberry protect website, and select manage your devices, and remove your device from blackberry protect.. then, after turning BB protect back on on the device, the symbol is restored. So basically I needed to delete both my devices and then re-add them.
    killer24680 likes this.
    07-25-15 10:17 PM
  7. Technarch's Avatar
    So lame.. deleted the device again from the website, but it is still having trouble connecting to the BB Protect service from the device even now. I wonder what has happened.
    Edit: Autoloaded to another temp OS & changed password on BB ID on the web, stupid thing kept saying network connection needed 50503 even though wifi was on.. so I put in the sim card and it still wouldn't let me sign in with the BB ID on the device.. rebooted the device with the sim in, and then it synced up and all was well again. Weird!
    Last edited by Technarch; 07-26-15 at 12:44 AM.
    killer24680 likes this.
    07-25-15 11:49 PM
  8. XxWile_E_CoyotexX's Avatar
    Wow, that is weird. Thank you for taking the time to post your steps to a solution.

    Posted via BlackBerry Z30 (OS 10.3.2.2339)
    07-26-15 01:41 AM
  9. 69goat's Avatar
    When this happened, did you try going to About / Network and Register BlackBerry?

    Posted via CB10
    07-26-15 06:26 AM
  10. kbz1960's Avatar
    I've noticed that after a reboot it takes minutes for the symbol to appear on mine.
    07-26-15 09:16 AM
  11. Technarch's Avatar
    When this happened, did you try going to About / Network and Register BlackBerry?

    Posted via CB10
    No because I didn't know about it.. I went there now, and pressed "Registered BlackBerry".. it pops up a box saying "Registration Requested" but nothing happens.

    When I look at the SIM Card panel, for "Service alias" it says "BlackBerry 10 WiFi Only" is it supposed to?

    Currently, there is no BB symbol showing.
    07-26-15 01:30 PM
  12. AnimalPak200's Avatar
    No because I didn't know about it.. I went there now, and pressed "Registered BlackBerry".. it pops up a box saying "Registration Requested" but nothing happens.

    When I look at the SIM Card panel, for "Service alias" it says "BlackBerry 10 WiFi Only" is it supposed to?

    Currently, there is no BB symbol showing.
    Mine has a four digit number under about/sim card.

    Do you get BlackBerry services with wifi only on?

    Posted via CB10
    07-26-15 01:34 PM
  13. Technarch's Avatar
    No, it wasn't working with wifi only or SIM only.. BUT.. I found another fix..

    Autoloading with 10.3.2.680 fixed it.. it got the symbol immediately, no rebooting or going to settings needed.. the other builds were NOT doing that properly, even if you had removed the device from the website.. so I think there may be a fairly severe BB Protect registration bug with later builds.
    07-26-15 04:51 PM

Similar Threads

  1. How to remove the blue highlight on iGrann
    By patzmyway in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-17, 02:22 PM
  2. Blackberry Accidents!! The Horror..
    By jmo712 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 07-31-15, 12:59 AM
  3. Can I play Mousehunt on Passport?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-15, 10:08 AM
  4. Free Blackberries! Location revealed.
    By sgosh in forum Rehab & Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-15, 03:58 AM
  5. Can I get some help registering the BlackBerry travel app on my Passport?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-15, 08:37 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD