Hi guys been on a BlackBerry Z10 for awhile now.

I'm new to CB though.

I installed the new 10.2.1 OS tonight. I have Amazon, 1Mobile, and Aptoide installed, but I heard/read that Snap actually has Google Services enabled?

If so, is there a way to download the apk for Snap?

Or is it a must that it be sideloaded?

I don't have a pc at the moment. My daughter+frootloops+ laptop= disaster.

I had to use my neighbour's to install the new OS this evening.

Thanks in advance!

Posted via CB10
    01-24-14 01:54 AM
    Nope,android apps are apk's, snap is a blackberry app therefore it's a .bar file, so you'll need to sideload it.

Edit: we can now download apk's to our phone but not .bar files, prety dumb if you ask me. We use to be able to directly download and install .bar files back in the days with legacy devices, but not anymore. Guess blackberry wants to have control with BBWorld.
    Last edited by dna47; 01-24-14 at 02:34 AM.
    01-24-14 01:59 AM
    OK. Was not quite sure. Thanks for the answer!

Cheers.

Posted via CB10
    01-24-14 02:02 AM
    By the way, Snap downloads apk's much faster than the rest...

Trusted Member Genius
    01-24-14 02:32 AM
    BTW, if you really need to download some android apps and can't get access to a computer to sideload Snap, just google the android app name
    + apk and then download it.
    01-24-14 02:37 AM
    Snap also registers your device with Google Play Store.

Newbie to CB Here. A Way to Download Snap via APK?-img_20140124_033016.png
    Newbie to CB Here. A Way to Download Snap via APK?-img_20140124_033039.png

Posted via CB10
    01-24-14 03:36 AM
    And snap will list all apk installed in your phone and if there's an update for the apk, it will notify you. The best one to download apk i might say.
    01-24-14 03:37 AM
    By the way, Snap downloads apk's much faster than the rest...

Trusted Member Genius