04-06-14 01:15 PM
563 ... 1718192021 ...
tools
  1. snejpa's Avatar
    What I have never noticed before I installed this leak: Signal strength only shows two bars, but the moment I actually make a call it switches to full bars.
    03-21-14 12:59 PM
  2. enguroo's Avatar
    All I can suggest then is to try and load it again. Puzzling..

    akawarrior..
    yes ..i had earlier changed the radio with the autoloader but now i installed .bar radio file via sachesi and now its showing the correct radio version in the sachesi
    03-21-14 01:00 PM
  3. akawarrior's Avatar
    I read that some people get better battery life while some don't see a difference.
    I guess I am going to stick to my 10.2.1.2102 | OS:10.2.1.2141 | Radio: 10.2.1.2142 combination for now, don't need to fix if it ain't broke, right?
    Exactly..
    wmwwa likes this.
    03-21-14 02:39 PM
  4. Foppa_21's Avatar
    My observation is that my OS and battery life run smoother after using an autoloader.
    Wish we had some facts on this. Run a non-disruptive Sachesi update for a week and compare to a week following a fresh auto-loader.
    03-21-14 02:43 PM
  5. Lawrie Sherratt's Avatar
    What I have never noticed before I installed this leak: Signal strength only shows two bars, but the moment I actually make a call it switches to full bars.
    Yes me too on EE in the UK.
    03-21-14 02:48 PM
  6. Lawrie Sherratt's Avatar
    Cannot find fault with this update. No problems with phone or battery life. Thanks again toobs.
    go1ndr and toobs623 like this.
    03-21-14 02:50 PM
  7. mrboba's Avatar
    So, is this leak .2234 worth upgrading to from .2228, or are most people finding it to be about the same?
    03-21-14 02:54 PM
  8. akawarrior's Avatar
    yes ..i had earlier changed the radio with the autoloader but now i installed .bar radio file via sachesi and now its showing the correct radio version in the sachesi
    Cool deal.. Yeah, sometimes it just takes a few tries to get what you want. Just keep cool, don't
    panic like some do, rethink whats going on and then try a selected fix. No matter how bad you
    screw up it is always fixable. Sometimes it helps me if I just get up and walk away and come
    back later. "Oh, now I see whats screwed" Glad to hear you are up to snuff now. Just think
    you will have to do it all over again in a day, week, or so when another update hits right?
    Welcome back from Blackberry Madness.. haahhahahaa.. Dang.. I got to say things are
    really looking up over what we have had though. Things are truly getting much much better
    not fast but a good pace to keep us from getting bored.. Android and iPhones just wish they
    could do what we can, (Home Brew your own OS) and do what all a Blackberry can do. AWESOME!

    akawarrior...
    03-21-14 02:54 PM
  9. Pdinos3's Avatar
    Wish we had some facts on this. Run a non-disruptive Sachesi update for a week and compare to a week following a fresh auto-loader.
    Sorry. I only do autoloaders. Period. Feels good to start fresh. Every time. Even if it is two days in a row

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    toobs623 likes this.
    03-21-14 04:46 PM
  10. heading4tomorrow's Avatar
    Sorry. I only do autoloaders. Period. Feels good to start fresh. Every time. Even if it is two days in a row

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    Then you better be extremely careful about where you get your autoloaders from.
    Autoloaders are prepared by people like you and me, there is always a chance something can be modified or corrupted intentionally or unintentionally, not saying there are some ill-intentioned people here but it's just possible, at least with Sachesi all files are downloaded from BB servers. Maybe you can look into making your own autoloaders (maybe I can look into making mine, lol).
    So anyway, what do you do with all your customization, contacts, emails, etc.. let them all resync? I did the backup/restore once and half of my android apps did not survive the process, it was pain, ugly looking, and a bit of a mess in the end. Also I use exchange servers to get my emails from corporate account, wit hover 3000 contacts and emails that are about 250/day I really hate autoloaders...
    03-21-14 07:18 PM
  11. Pdinos3's Avatar
    Then you better be extremely careful about where you get your autoloaders from.
    Autoloaders are prepared by people like you and me, there is always a chance something can be modified or corrupted intentionally or unintentionally, not saying there are some ill-intentioned people here but it's just possible, at least with Sachesi all files are downloaded from BB servers. Maybe you can look into making your own autoloaders (maybe I can look into making mine, lol).
    So anyway, what do you do with all your customization, contacts, emails, etc.. let them all resync? I did the backup/restore once and half of my android apps did not survive the process, it was pain, ugly looking, and a bit of a mess in the end. Also I use exchange servers to get my emails from corporate account, wit hover 3000 contacts and emails that are about 250/day I really hate autoloaders...
    Wrong

    Let me add that I only load autoloaders from reputable sources. I don't Google them and go to the first one I see. Only 2 sites I trust.

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    Last edited by Pdinos3; 03-21-14 at 08:12 PM.
    03-21-14 07:51 PM
  12. Pdinos3's Avatar
    I don't restore. Contactx for contacts. And I sync my email and calendar. Restoring can cause corrupted files to keep coming back from old OSes

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    Gearheadaddy likes this.
    03-21-14 07:52 PM
  13. anon721037's Avatar
    [QUOTE=heading4tomorrow;10147744]Then you better be extremely careful about where you get your autoloaders from.
    Autoloaders are prepared by people like you and me, there is always a chance something can be modified or corrupted intentionally or unintentionally, not saying there are some ill-intentioned people here but it's just possible, at least with Sachesi all files are downloaded from BB servers. Maybe you can look into making your own autoloaders (maybe I can look into making mine, lol).

    I'm pretty sure you can trust toobs and the other guys here dropping leaks. I've been doing it for years and have never had a problem.

    Posted on my Z30 on 10.2.1.2234
    Pdinos3 likes this.
    03-21-14 08:04 PM
  14. thurask's Avatar
    WARNING: LONG BORING POST AHEAD

    Then you better be extremely careful about where you get your autoloaders from.
    Autoloaders are prepared by people like you and me, there is always a chance something can be modified or corrupted intentionally or unintentionally, not saying there are some ill-intentioned people here but it's just possible, at least with Sachesi all files are downloaded from BB servers. Maybe you can look into making your own autoloaders (maybe I can look into making mine, lol).
    I do remember I had an old autoloader that, after I loaded it, turned out to be corrupt (10.2.0.1791, I think it was). The OS worked fine and updated to 10.2.0.1791, as expected, but the radio remained at 10.1.0.1721. I made a 10.2.0.1792 autoloader, loaded that and was back to normal. No BB10-0004 (incompatible radio) error code.

    The moral of the story is that if anything in an autoloader is corrupted, however it happened, it isn't loaded onto the device. There are two ways to do this, because BlackBerry's reputation is built on things like that.

    First, the files themselves are hashed. For example, looking into the manifest of one OS file:

    Package-Name: com.qnx.coreos.qcfm.os.qc8960.factory_sfi
    Package-Id: gYABgNYRvWGH7e4f5FEhDKhmaNQ
    Package-Version: 10.2.1.1925
    Package-Version-Id: gYACgGwnuzr35AyYwTBgBzrVoU0
    Package-Author: Research In Motion Limited
    Package-Author-Id: gYAAgNpMbwE-hW4khx0h8BidUeI
    Package-Type: system
    Package-Author-Certificate-Hash: EpKB7Di7mrWl9rhqx1lQBexZDwlSBK_8PBLUBpWmI6fqa0hgI0 uhw3HkL86_K0Xvz2NLG01Tzall60XyX0UWIw
    Package-Architecture: armle-v7
    Package-Description: System firmware

    Archive-Asset-Name: qcfm.image.com.qnx.coreos.qcfm.os.qc8960.factory_s fi.BB10_2_1.1925.648923.signed
    Archive-Asset-SHA-512-Digest: vWbNr035Hb8T6IHugwzOCIOneO-uRRCG-lcj4hK3U0mDkeNLEJsNvuLORMYkU7RAmom1gsYdw8m2q0PZDRt IyA
    If anything is changed within the files, the hash changes. Simple. To replace the old OS also requires the same signing key (not gonna happen), developer ID and such, so John Q. Hacker would have a tough time getting anything out of that. The five dollar wrench solution is a better choice.

    The second method is in the OS itself. I got these from using cfp.exe:

    RPMB Support: Enabled
    WP Mode: Permanent
    So everything is write protected, preventing being written to unless one is using a BB-sanctioned piece of software (going back to the first point). RPMB is just fancy write protect, anyway.

    QNX Partition: type=0x93:00, blocks 1583-1583, total = 1, "dmi_sig"
    ...
    QNX Partition: type=0x07:40, blocks 2095-2095, total = 1, "os_sig"
    QNX Partition: type=0x89:40, blocks 2095-2095, total = 1, "os_sig"
    ...
    QNX Partition: type=0x07:00, blocks 10287-10287, total = 1, "os_sig"
    QNX Partition: type=0x89:00, blocks 10287-10287, total = 1, "os_sig"
    ...
    QNX Partition: type=0x0B:40, blocks 18479-18479, total = 1, "radio_sig"
    QNX Partition: type=0x8C:40, blocks 18479-18479, total = 1, "radio_sig"
    ...
    QNX Partition: type=0x0B:00, blocks 20527-20527, total = 1, "radio_sig"
    QNX Partition: type=0x8C:00, blocks 20527-20527, total = 1, "radio_sig"
    ...
    QNX Partition: type=0x05:80, blocks 22560-262143, total = 239584, "user"
    Furthermore, the user data partition (where apps go, malicious or otherwise) is a separate partition from the OS and radio, preventing spillage. Standard UNIX operating procedure. The OS and radio also have signatures within the device memory, which tie back to the "if you change even one byte, it won't work" idea.

    So while accidents with autoloaders happen (even to the guy who hoards them by the dozen), it isn't much to be worried about.
    03-21-14 10:14 PM
  15. red72's Avatar
    Thanks Toobs623.Non destructible didn't work for me\, but thanks are deserved, and thanks you get.
    03-21-14 10:43 PM
  16. heading4tomorrow's Avatar
    I don't restore. Contactx for contacts. And I sync my email and calendar. Restoring can cause corrupted files to keep coming back from old OSes

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    Then you go through all your apps and reinstall them one by one?
    03-21-14 11:18 PM
  17. CyberMan2013's Avatar
    Thanks Toobs623.Non destructible didn't work for me\, but thanks are deserved, and thanks you get.
    Did you give up or did you succeed using an autoloader?

    Posted via CB10
    03-21-14 11:18 PM
  18. Pdinos3's Avatar
    Then you go through all your apps and reinstall them one by one?
    Yes. And sometimes I realize I don't use an app as much so I won't load it. Bbworld apps I do all in one shot. It's faster than you think. I set up my Gmail and rogers and Facebook and Twitter too

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    03-21-14 11:36 PM
  19. SirSti23's Avatar
    Yes. And sometimes I realize I don't use an app as much so I won't load it. Bbworld apps I do all in one shot. It's faster than you think. I set up my Gmail and rogers and Facebook and Twitter too

    Via CB10 Z30STA100-5/10.2.1.2234 SLFF!
    Exactly! I do the same and doesn't take long at all!

    Posted via CB10
    Pdinos3 likes this.
    03-21-14 11:56 PM
  20. jhlee83's Avatar
    Hi, I loaded my z10 using sachesi, non destructively. I'm now not able to open Mt text messages, every time I click on it, it'll go into Hub. Anyone has any idea what's wrong?

    Posted via CB10
    03-22-14 01:11 AM
  21. jhlee83's Avatar
    Hi, I loaded my z10 using sachesi, non destructively. I'm now not able to open Mt text messages, every time I click on it, it'll go into Hub. Anyone has any idea what's wrong?

    Posted via CB10
    OK resolved with restart, realized there's dark theme for text messages.


    MyToobsAreLeaking presents 10.2.1.2234 for all devices-img_20140322_143642.png

    Posted via CB10
    03-22-14 01:38 AM
  22. Gearheadaddy's Avatar
    Hi, I loaded my z10 using sachesi, non destructively. I'm now not able to open Mt text messages, every time I click on it, it'll go into Hub. Anyone has any idea what's wrong?

    Posted via CB10
    We need more information from you. Did you use 310 Country Code, 160 Carrier Code, STL 100-3 phone code? What settings in Sachesi, carrier, your phone model # etc...

    Trusted Member Genius
    03-22-14 01:42 AM
  23. akawarrior's Avatar
    One thing I have noticed with 2228 & 2234 is that after about 12hrs of use (thank God for now better battery life) if you reboot your phone the OS now recalculates your battery level graph and % to around 20% more left. Anyone else getting that?

    akawarrior..

    MyToobsAreLeaking presents 10.2.1.2234 for all devices-img_20140322_040643.png

    Posted via AWESOME z10 STL100-3 on 10.2.1.2234
    03-22-14 04:16 AM
  24. moyah8's Avatar
    I'm loving the battery life with this leak on my Q5:


    MyToobsAreLeaking presents 10.2.1.2234 for all devices-img_20140321_163247_edit1_edit.jpeg



    Bringing sexy back on my Q10SQN100-3/10.2.1.2141
    03-22-14 04:47 AM
  25. toobs623's Avatar
    Then you better be extremely careful about where you get your autoloaders from.
    Autoloaders are prepared by people like you and me, there is always a chance something can be modified or corrupted intentionally or unintentionally, not saying there are some ill-intentioned people here but it's just possible, at least with Sachesi all files are downloaded from BB servers. Maybe you can look into making your own autoloaders (maybe I can look into making mine, lol).
    So anyway, what do you do with all your customization, contacts, emails, etc.. let them all resync? I did the backup/restore once and half of my android apps did not survive the process, it was pain, ugly looking, and a bit of a mess in the end. Also I use exchange servers to get my emails from corporate account, wit hover 3000 contacts and emails that are about 250/day I really hate autoloaders...
    If you wanted to be sure you can always extract the autoloader yourself and check it, but bottom line is without BlackBerry's signing keys no one can inject anything into the OS.

    Edit: clearly I didn't read the last page before posting this.

    Posted via CB10
    03-22-14 07:41 AM
563 ... 1718192021 ...

Similar Threads

  1. Set Default App to Launch if Bluetooth Connected?
    By Tornado99 in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-14, 03:13 PM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-26-14, 01:31 AM
  3. Updated Kindle app for Playbook
    By cobra boy in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-14, 09:47 PM
  4. Verizon has finally rolled out the 10.2 for q10!
    By BennieBR in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-14, 03:50 PM
  5. My 10.1.2.xxxx from Verizon is scaring me
    By Lee Eshelman in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-14, 03:47 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD