09-16-15 05:07 AM
90 1234
tools
  1. lift's Avatar
    Obviously there are 2 factors that cause the double typing issue. Hardware and software. If some of the keys are causing excess bounce and the software is not designed properly to reject that bounce then double typing happens. That's why it doesn't happen to everyone, it takes both issues for it to occur.
    Now that the software looks to be properly optimized to reject excess bounce, the problem is fixed for people who have good or marginally bad keyboards. If the keyboard degrades past the point of the software rejecting excess bounce, the problem will come back. Then, it will only be fixed by replacing the faulty hardware.
    slagman5 and anon(8063781) like this.
    08-28-15 03:35 PM
  2. kgbbz10's Avatar
    If you've ever used a computer keyboard you already know that the buttons get worn out, same with any button on anything you press repeatedly. If they can fix this issue through the software, which seems to be the case, then why are we having a problem with this? At least they can fix it.

    BBClassic10.3.2.2639
    08-28-15 03:37 PM
  3. wincyUt's Avatar
    I'd say great news!! Fortunately didn't have those problems but I'm happy for those whose double typing issues are now fixed.
    08-28-15 03:42 PM
  4. HereticHermit's Avatar
    I never had DT syndrome that came for many users very early. Suddenly it appeared and my LMK keys were affected. In due time DT on those key disappeared and found a new victim on B Key. After about a week it disappeared altogether but now B key needs to be pressed harder to register a stroke. MOST PUZZLING behaviour. Should we assume that Passport is going to consume many keyboards till it's EOL time?
    UPDATE: 29/8/2015 Loaded a destructive leak from autoloader. My B Key is still as erratic so I am guessing it could be hardware issue or combination of both as few others suggesting.
    Last edited by HereticHermit; 08-29-15 at 01:56 AM. Reason: Update
    08-28-15 04:07 PM
  5. RyanGermann's Avatar
    Obviously there are 2 factors that cause the double typing issue. Hardware and software. If some of the keys are causing excess bounce and the software is not designed properly to reject that bounce then double typing happens. That's why it doesn't happen to everyone, it takes both issues for it to occur.
    Now that the software looks to be properly optimized to reject excess bounce, the problem is fixed for people who have good or marginally bad keyboards. If the keyboard degrades past the point of the software rejecting excess bounce, the problem will come back. Then, it will only be fixed by replacing the faulty hardware.
    Actually, it only takes one for the issue to occur: faulty hardware. Software can mask the effect caused by faulty hardware, but if it's just masking the effect, I'd still be sure to get the hardware replaced.
    08-28-15 07:16 PM
  6. lift's Avatar
    Actually, it only takes one for the issue to occur: faulty hardware. Software can mask the effect caused by faulty hardware, but if it's just masking the effect, I'd still be sure to get the hardware replaced.
    When any key is pressed on any keyboard, there are often times many connects registered. Even on healthy or brand new keyboards of any type. There is circuitry or software (or both) that is designed to ignore any repeated signals from the same key within a certain very short amount of time. If this circuitry or software or both, is not designed properly then more than one key press will register. Period. So double typing can occur from hardware that is not faulty or is marginally faulty if the de-bounce system is not designed properly.
    08-28-15 07:39 PM
  7. IFCArea51's Avatar
    I'm actually on my third keyboard. I will install this OS and report back if I notice any changes.

    Thanks for the leak.

    This leak took so long it flushed the toilet.

    Posted via CB10
    08-28-15 08:22 PM
  8. clareberry's Avatar
    I am so glad that so many have had success with this leak! It has always been so disheartening to read about the double-typing issue and how it affects our enthusiasm for some pretty great BB phones.
    08-29-15 03:40 PM
  9. Milan Drasko's Avatar
    amazing update I am so happy that DT is gone - thank you bb!!!

    After installation I wrote my name "milan" hundred times. Guess what no double typed i or n
    08-29-15 04:14 PM
  10. AL8x B's Avatar
    I think that still an issue with the space key. Some dot instead of a space.

    Posted via CB10
    08-29-15 05:06 PM
  11. zombiecupcake's Avatar
    24 hours in with this OS on my 11 mo. old original Passport and so far still no double typing! Super happy with this fix, even if it's temporary, as everyone is saying. Something is better than nothing, especially since I voided my warranty and can't get a replacement :P

     = ♥ | 8220, 8530, 9670, 9810, Q10, Passport
    08-29-15 07:05 PM
  12. conite's Avatar
    Actually, it only takes one for the issue to occur: faulty hardware. Software can mask the effect caused by faulty hardware, but if it's just masking the effect, I'd still be sure to get the hardware replaced.
    I'm not sure it's fair to refer to it as 'faulty' hardware - although I understand where you're coming from.

    Perhaps it can be considered an acceptable design tolerance that can be controlled by software. Achieving 100% hardware-only accuracy may simply be technically and/or economically infeasible.

    PassportSQW100-4/10.3.2.2639
    RyanGermann likes this.
    08-29-15 07:14 PM
  13. FCSC's Avatar
    Achieving 100% hardware-only accuracy may simply be technically and/or economically infeasible.

    PassportSQW100-4/10.3.2.2639
    The more and more I read about debounce the more it seemed that their is no such thing as 100% hardware-only accuracy, since even before 2 contacts physically touch, electronic charges may transfer between the 2 contacts.


    Posted via CB10
    08-29-15 07:52 PM
  14. Matrixval's Avatar
    I don"t really care this is hardware or software till I don"t have it on my Q10 and even if my key board is bad but still usable it"s fine for me.When time comes to change it I will do it and will be happy Q10 user for next 10 years.Just live today and not tomorrow.

    Q10 10.3.2.2252 and love it
    08-30-15 06:51 AM
  15. LeeU1911's Avatar
    I feel so happy that you guys with pkb devices got this issue fixed.

    Posted via CB10
    08-30-15 07:22 AM
  16. djsvet's Avatar
    I don"t really care this is hardware or software till I don"t have it on my Q10 and even if my key board is bad but still usable it"s fine for me.When time comes to change it I will do it and will be happy Q10 user for next 10 years.Just live today and not tomorrow.

    Q10 10.3.2.2252 and love it
    In 10 years, you will not be able to open most web pages, most current built in 3rd party services will not work due to the fact that they are "built in" and when BlackBerry drops support, development of such services will continue to evolve and eventually not work at all on your Q10. Talking about Facebook, Twitter, Evergreen, and so on.

    I wish they release Q10.2 with same size, maybe just a touch bigger but smaller than classic, modern processor and 3gb of RAM.

    Posted via CB10
    08-30-15 07:39 AM
  17. Matrixval's Avatar
    Amen,.
    08-30-15 08:00 AM
  18. IFCArea51's Avatar
    +1

    Posted via CB10
    08-30-15 08:48 AM
  19. shahroozs2's Avatar
    No more DT after 3 days
    08-30-15 09:03 AM
  20. IFCArea51's Avatar
    On my second day and no DT either. I will for sure be certain in 2 weeks tops if it really went away.

    Posted via CB10
    08-31-15 07:11 AM
  21. Milan Drasko's Avatar
    Me also no DT. I am using latest leak for 3 days now

    Posted via CB10
    08-31-15 02:39 PM
  22. The Big Picture's Avatar
    No double typing here either. PassportSQW100-1/10.3.2.2639

    Posted via CB10
    08-31-15 02:46 PM
  23. anhtuan87's Avatar
    Great to have you guys report on this DT problems. If blackberry could confirm if it is a hardware or software issue then there would be no more discussion about that problem. Lol.

    Posted via CB10
    IFCArea51 likes this.
    08-31-15 03:23 PM
  24. RubenDM's Avatar
    Great to have you guys report on this DT problems. If blackberry could confirm if it is a hardware or software issue then there would be no more discussion about that problem. Lol.

    Posted via CB10
    The fact that it was mentioned as a fix for this build means they are aware of it as a software problem.

    Posted via CB10
    IFCArea51 likes this.
    08-31-15 03:54 PM
  25. djsvet's Avatar
    The fact that it was mentioned as a fix for this build means they are aware of it as a software problem.

    Posted via CB10
    They've used the software do "correct" hardware issue.


    Posted via CB10
    slagman5 likes this.
    08-31-15 05:43 PM
90 1234

Similar Threads

  1. Latest Google Maps update fixes long standing bug on BlackBerry Passport
    By dejanh in forum Android Apps (Amazon Store & APK Files)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-15, 01:11 AM
  2. 10.3.2.2639 and nothing to show for..
    By ali1t in forum BB10 Leaked/Beta OS
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-28-15, 11:29 PM
  3. I have issue with my blackberry passport camera !!
    By Anas Ayyad in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-28-15, 03:38 PM
  4. Why does my Q5 randomly restart?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-15, 10:27 PM
  5. OS 10.3 bugs fixed?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-27-15, 09:04 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD