04-16-14 08:18 PM
100 1234
tools
    I'm pretty sure that the tool that Google included for a while with 4.3 and above to selectively control app permissions was removed in later builds with the excuse it was "only for testing".
    Nope, it's only hidden. I am running 4.4.2 PA AOSP on my Nexus 7 and these settings are exposed here and can be accessed.

Posted via CB10
    01-28-14 03:20 AM
    That's exatly the reason why I wanted to root Android runtimme, because you can toggle app permissions and it's a bit hard to do it with other tools that wants to decompile-edit-repack apks.

But there are also other things we could do if we rooted Android Runtime.

Now I'm not an Android expert (neither an user, actually), I'm just a programmer and I.T. Student, but I think there's a way for doing it. Do you know if, in the finals release of BB 10.2.1, runtime will be unlocked?
    The runtime has been unlocked in all builds of 10.2.1. Unlocked in this sense that you no longer need the _sys_android_rrr permission to run native apps. You can even natively install apk now.
    HOWEVER, it doesn't mean you can root the runtime.
    I talked with a certain individual about this rooting (he was involved with the rooting of the PB), and basically what dingleberry did was run an exploit after every boot. That's what Johney5 was saying was the way to go also. However, most of the exploits are now patched. I know at the time of PB2.0 official release, there were only 2 processes left with root permissions. So you would essentially have to exploit one of those. However, the 2 of them are so basic in what they do (very few functions) that you essentially have nothing to work with if you want to exploit them.
    I heard rumors that even those 2 processes are no longer running as root now on BB10. If so, you have essentially no access to root itself.