Hi there!

So my father recently retired, and had to return his work phone that had also been his primary phone. However, he was allowed to keep a previous generation work phone, a Leap that seems to still be in good condition. Since his needs are basic and his budget limited, I'm hoping its possible to set this up for him in a somewhat usable way.

I was hoping it would be as simple as flashing a custom Android ROM, but it looks like things are a bit more complicated then that, and I'm completely new to the BB10 ecosystem. I've performed a factory reset, but even after searching around for a while I'm a bit lost about how to proceed. The model # is STR-100 and the OS versions 10.3.2.2474

1) What tools do I need to load the most up-to-date OS onto the Leap? (And a link to that OS would be much appreciated!)
    2) Is it possible that since this is an old corporate phone this will impact things? I've noticed that when trying to access Wikipedia in the browser it blocks it as "unsecure" even after said factory reset.
    3) I've seen mentions of Cobalt's method and Yalp as a way to load Android apps- is there by chance a guide to using these methods, and what apps can be made to work on the phone?

The biggest things for him on this phone would be the ability to take pictures and get them off the phone, browse the news, and use some form of maps navigation (Google maps if possible, but it looks like that might not be from other threads I've seen). If WiFi calling is possible that would be great, but I'm not holding my breath. He's not super tech literate, so I'm hoping I can set things up for him in a way that doesn't require constant fiddling on his end. Any help would be much appreciated!

(And if this isn't really possible or worth the effort vs just buying a new phone, please let me know as well!)
    09-27-20 08:00 PM
    Hi there!