Hello.

I just purchased a brand new Blackberry 9700 which has os5 installed. I read somewhere that os6 (once shrunk) will work much faster, and provide me with good internet speed.

Can you please tell me how to install os6, and where I can download it? I tried from the Blackberry desktop manager software, but it told me I couldn't have os6 because it's only available for Blackberry subscription???

Finally, can you tell me how I can shrink os6 for my Blackberry 9700? I have downloaded BB Boss Version 2, but to be honest I do not have the slightest clue how it works.

Please consider that I am not technical in the slightest, and very unfamiliar with Blackberry technology, and computer lingo. I really need basic instructions. Thank you so much.

Kind Regards, Rikki
    07-05-16 02:53 PM
    I would avoid trying to shrink anything unless you are an expert. Too many things to go wrong.

O2 UK has 6.0.0.668 on their site (all language version):

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/D...B73B97E1AAA491

AT&T has the same one, but the slightly smaller multi-language version:

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/D...E4F82F9F00E7D4

Download and install on computer, then remove the vendor.xml file from the install directory. Fire up BlackBerry Desktop and update your device.
    I would avoid trying to shrink anything unless you are an expert. Too many things to go wrong.

O2 UK has 6.0.0.668 on their site (all language version):

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/D...B73B97E1AAA491

AT&T has the same one, but the slightly smaller multi-language version:

https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/D...E4F82F9F00E7D4

Download and install on computer, then remove the vendor.xml file from the install directory. Fire up BlackBerry Desktop and update your device.
    Last edited by conite; 07-05-16 at 03:07 PM.
    mototopo likes this.
    07-05-16 02:55 PM
    BBHTool is what you would want to use to "shrink" the installation file for a BBOS device.