1. spookyentertainment's Avatar
    How come any other phone can use bbm over wifi without any kind of data plan except my BlackBerry plz someone an explanation. Android and iphone just needs wifi hmm

    Posted via cb10 spookyentertainment - YouTube
    06-17-14 02:54 AM
  2. howarmat's Avatar
    what phone do you have? All bb10 devices operate the same as the iphone and android
    06-17-14 02:57 AM
  3. Draven2666's Avatar
    My Q10 works bbm over wifi.

    Posted via CB10
    06-17-14 03:01 AM
  4. Mr4aces's Avatar
    Check your settings. I your battery drains down it will turn the radios off. It nomally will reset when you recharge.
    06-17-14 11:13 AM
  5. spookyentertainment's Avatar
    I have a 9700 with out data plan it runs Facebook, Twitter ect on wifi but how can I get my bbm working

    Posted via cb10 Www.youtube.com/spookyentertainment
    06-17-14 02:07 PM
  6. rthonpm's Avatar
    Legacy BlackBerry devices rely on BIS (BlackBerry Internet Service) to connect to BlackBerry services. This is how those devices are built, to access BlackBerry services without BIS, you'd need to move to a BlackBerry 10 device.
    06-17-14 02:13 PM
  7. m1kr0's Avatar
    Do you see this on your device?

    Umm...Mr Chen and anyone else BlackBerry?-17-june-2014-201313-sast.png

    Posted via CB10
    06-17-14 02:14 PM
  8. spookyentertainment's Avatar
    I have a z10 that I use so ur saying I won't be able to use bbm on my 9700 on wifi because it's not bb10?

    Posted via cb10 Www.youtube.com/spookyentertainment
    06-17-14 03:20 PM
  9. m1kr0's Avatar
    You have to have a BIS plan activated by your carrier on a legacy device to be able to use BBM. Once the BIS is activated, the BIS icon will display on your legacy phone same as the one in my picture.


    Posted via CB10
    06-17-14 03:47 PM
  10. spookyentertainment's Avatar
    I'm with at&t will I be able to do it?

    Posted via cb10 Www.youtube.com/spookyentertainment
    06-17-14 05:00 PM
  11. sk8er_tor's Avatar
    Legacy devices like the 9700 require a BIS subscription and therefore you cannot use BBM without a cellular plan. On BB10, this is not a requirement and you can use it over Wi-Fi.
    06-17-14 05:12 PM
  12. m1kr0's Avatar
    Your question is better answered by existing AT&T customers, but a generic answer: no reason why this can't be done. Historically they have done this and I'm sure they still have a BIS server although they may not want to do it from a pure financial perspective - ( that's another long discission for another day).

    Z10 STL100-1, OS 10.2.1.3175
    06-17-14 05:16 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-18, 10:34 PM
  2. Need Bluetooth instructions and help
    By axiometric in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-14, 08:49 AM
  3. Unusually High CPU and Battery usage by BBM
    By tushargkwd in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-14, 10:01 AM
  4. Can I set moderators and admin for BBM channels??
    By dikku11 in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-14, 12:58 AM
  5. Findings Fixes and Issues With 10.3.513 for Z30
    By Joey Vajda1 in forum BB10 Leaked/Beta OS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-14, 11:59 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD