Built for Business - Learn more about BlackBerry KEY2
07-03-18 07:54 PM
121 ... 345
tools
    Unfortunately, Hitler kept demanding changes, improvements and different versions, meaning that the research and development dragged out to the point where the plane didn't have much of an effect.
    I wouldn’t say that was unfortunate.
    DonHB likes this.
    04-19-18 11:13 PM
    I can't speak to development - I'm an architect... the building kind, not the IT systems kind.

But, the Android Runtime (ART) has been part of the OS since the PlayBook OS days. It wasn't suddenly dropped into the QNX OS, it's always been there. It was a locked runtime at the start until 10.3, I believe. Locked, meaning it had to be wrapped as a bar file and side-loaded.

When they unlocked the runtime, that allowed direct install capability of the apk file that we have today.

The original idea was that developers could port their existing apps, see how well they work, then spring for their own development of native BB10. The ART was intended to be temporary. Once those developers were to switch to BB10, BlackBerry was to rely lesson on the runtime.

It didn't work out that way. The developers didn't come. The few that did just stopped working on their apps for BB10 after a while. And those that just ported their android apps just let them languish. Sure, a few stuck around and did a few updates, but many did not.

In response, BlackBerry made a deal with Amazon to add their App Store, and that's when the runtime was unlocked.

This post was edited to finish my thought. Previously this got posted before I finished. In fact, it went out mid-sentence.
    Yes, someone had answered that the ART was part of the OS from the beginning.

I think it's probably unlikely looking back that if there was no ART that Blackberry native developers would have come out in huge numbers, but I was wondering if the mindset was: Well, they can use Android Apps, why bother with Native ones."
    DonHB likes this.