Partner with a hardware company
    Kyocera or Samsung

New Blackberry Curve
    WiFi Hotspot
    New Antennas
    Tool Belt (?)

Current Phones - Q10, Passport
    Favorite Phone - 8900
    Who's going to put up the billion dollars a year in development costs?
    IndianTiwari likes this.
    04-16-18 11:27 AM
    Where does the Billion Dollars a Year Development cost come from?
    DonHB likes this.
    04-16-18 12:50 PM
    Where does the Billion Dollars a Year Development cost come from?
    I know it's low-ball, but the problem remains.

The math is pretty straight forward.

According to the lead developer, here is a picture of the BB10 team that "developed the Clock and Weather apps from scratch, and took over maintenance of the Compass and Calculator apps that had been developed in other parts of BB":
    04-16-18 01:04 PM
    I asked an honest question--you didn't seem to answer.
    BB10 is a functioning product--still today.
    I'm not a Software engineer, so I don't know what sort of costs go into maintaining an OS like BB10.
    How many hours of Engineering time would it take to maintain this?
    You are stating a Billion Dollars a year, and I gotta say--that seems insanely high, but I have no data to back up that reaction--so perhaps you can give me some sense of the costs/time.
    I'm not talking about Developing a lot of new features or paralleling Android or iOS--I'm talking about maintaining BB10, which would require things like updating the browser and such.
    skinnymike1 and DonHB like this.
    04-16-18 01:10 PM
    How many full time Software Engineers do you think it would take to maintain BB10 as a functioning, secure OS?
    They are currently still supporting it, so how much is being spent a year right now?
    A billion dollars divided by $200k a year salary (perhaps a high estimate).
    What's that--5000 Engineers at 2000 hours a year. 10 Million Hours of Engineering time a year (if that's the basis of the cost)?