I pretty much get why people would want to jailbreak but I don't get why they'd want to put up with what seems like all the hassles with a tethered jailbreak. I'm new to all of this so if I understand this all correctly, if I have to shut my phone down or if it runs out of battery power completely I have to connect it thru my computer and go thru a similar process to the jailbreak every time I reboot?

I'm, by nature, stupid or curious (take your pick) enough to want to do this or at least look into it (I've had my first iPhone less than 2 weeks....lol) but a) no matter how much material I read it still looks daunting to me and b) and most importantly, the whole tethered thing scares me off doing it even more.

How does this NOT make jailbreaking an iPhone 4 with OS 4.2.1 more of a pain in the a** than it's worth again? This is the part I do not understand.
    What if, for some reason, you have to shut off your phone and you're not close to your computer at the time? Wouldn't that mean some apps on your phone are not going to work when you power it back up?

Forgive me in advance if my newb status clearly gives me away as a complete doofus.

I just don't see how it could be worth the hassle at this point but am willing to listen in case I'm completely mistaken.
    01-10-11 11:23 AM
    Plus there's a little hidden risk factor to it too.....

Now there are websites where you basically just connect your phone to our PC, go to the site, and click "jailbreak now" (or something to that effect).

Have these sites been vetted? Are the sites themselves vulnerable to attack and the possibility of malicious code getting placed on your phone? Etc.....

When I upgrade my wife to the VZW iPhone, we will not jailbreak it.
    01-10-11 12:14 PM