I've had a problem with my 32GB 3GS for a little over a week. When plugged into a car or home charger, if a call comes in, all you hear are rapid beeps/chirps (the noise you hear when you plug your iPhone into its charger). You are unable to answer the phone or see who was calling you. No record will be on the phone, such as "missed call."

Upon calling AppleCare (the phone is about 3 months old and I have the extended warranty through AppleCare), the support agent (and later the agent's supervisor) told me my replacement phone would have a new screen, a new battery and a new case, but the insides (guts) will have been previously used, though checked out. Further conversation from the supervisor revealed that Apple routinely disassembled returned iPhones and incorporates the previously used parts to assemble the "new" iPhones. I was shocked and a bit amazed. My background is automotive manufacturing and I know for a fact that is illegal... Illegal to sell something advertised as new that is in fact NOT new.

Has anyone else heard of this? How does it make you feel that the new iPhone you bought wasn't really "new?"

I received a customer satisfaction survey a few minutes ago and gladly shared my feelings with Apple.
    10-01-09 02:12 PM
    I've had a problem with my 32GB 3GS for a little over a week. When plugged into a car or home charger, if a call comes in, all you hear are rapid beeps/chirps (the noise you hear when you plug your iPhone into its charger). You are unable to answer the phone or see who was calling you. No record will be on the phone, such as "missed call."