So I bought another 3gs today, for my husband. It is running 4.1 and already jailbroken (which is good because I do NOT know how to jailbreak) but not unlocked. I can't use ultrasnow because the baseband is 5.14.02 -So what do I do? How do update the baseband to 6.15? Will doing this undo the jailbreak? We need it unlocked asap. If anyone can help me and explain this to me as if I were a toddler (bearing in mind I am new to iPhone), it would be beyond appreciated!
    Last edited by shanti.virus; 02-10-11 at 11:47 PM.
    02-10-11 11:45 PM
    Once you unlock it that way, you ware pretty much stuck there forever, and youll never be able to restore, atleast if you use RedSnow. I dont know if Greenposi0n will work on it or not. Ill look for a sec.
    02-11-11 12:33 AM
    Alright, scratch that. New problem. He got frustrated with all of the previous owners iTunes and apps and hit "reset all settings". What to do now? Obviously it is not even going to be jailbroken anymore. Don't you need a valid AT&T sim card to activate the phone once it finishes resetting? Is there a way around that? Also should I update the firmware this time when I attempt to jailbreak and unlock it? I just don't know what to do.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by shanti.virus; 02-11-11 at 12:42 AM.
    02-11-11 12:38 AM
    If youre on the baseband, looks like your only option is actually putting an iPad baseband on your phone. Which, yes, will allow you to unlock and keep jailbreak, but you will not be able to restore in itunes if you have any issues. You would have to wait until/if a higher baseband is released. If you have to do it its your only option, but is a iffy situation to be in IMO. If you still want a step by step still, let me know.
    02-11-11 12:43 AM