hi everyone,

basically, the title says it all, but i'm strongly considering the iphone 3gs. i'm also very interested in the onyx. currently i have a pearl 8100 so i realize either of these phones is a substantial upgrade over my current device.

i understand i will be sacrificing some productivity on the email front (i.e. attachments), but as a student, my life won't be left in disarray. i do bbm with friends in international countries, but i'm even willing to forgo that ability. i'm more curious about the little things that differ between both phones.

there's a few question i have to the bb to iphone converts:
    • as a pearl user, an understanding of the bb shortcuts is huge. do you miss being able to skip from top to bottom, page down, page up, etc.?

• how about being able to go from email/message back to the desktop, maneuver around the bb, and eventually return to the email without going through the menus all over again?

• bb, even cheap motorola/nokia/sony ericcson/etc., have the feature where you can just type a contacts name from the home screen and their details will appear. is the lack of this ability and using the search a frustrating process?

• lack of removable battery and battery life? (i'm more concerned about the battery life aspect)

• saving, viewing, and emailing attachments?

• lack of autotext?

• on a separate note, anyone have any information about unlocking an iphone and using it in other countries?

with over 50gb of music and an ipod classic, i don't plan on using the ipod aspect of the iphone, so i would most likely purchase the 16gb. i'm a huge fantasy sports fan and i love that there's a myriad of fantasy sports apps for the iphone, but ultimately i've only found a few apps i've been enamored by. the camera is not a concern of mine.