Hey guys,

Its occurred to me at both the nicety and as its dawning on me, neccecity of having a push email account, I set up my iPhone to use GMail Push, but its....lacking and not nearly as reliable as one would hope. One of my main windows that opens when I open firefox is my gmail account and often ill see that I do have new mail, that the iPhone never got.

So firstly, anyone else have this problem? Any other service that someone would recommend that is more reliable hopefully free? Any fixes that people have found?

I would be willing to put down some money, I was looking at MobileMe, but really I just need push email, I dont need the rest so paying $100 for push email just didnt seem worth it (im a college student not a business man) so while a lot of my email is non urgent, from time to time I get stuff that needs to be handled ASAP.

I'm almost thinking of jumping ship (that BBM is mighty attractive to a guy who has friends all over the world), but I hesitate to do that, I do love my iPhone, but mail is just spotty.

Thanks guys,

-iNoodles
    03-09-10 01:19 AM
    What are your settings you used to set up gmail Exchange?

Try following How to set up Gmail push on your iPhone

Also realize the gmail experience on BB is poor at best.

-Things you read on your phone wont be marked as read in your gmail.

-There are no mail folders, just one cluster inbox of every email ( I know in college/law school separating email by classes/organizations/friends/family/etc was key to keeping organized. I dont know how people have an inbox of 200 emails and go hunting and searching for the right one. When its in a folder you know what its relating to at least).

-Attachments are limited to 2mb

-Emails sometimes can get truncated

-HTML email is poorly rendered

-BIGGEST: BIS only pulls your Gmail every 15 min, it isnt true push like BES/corporate BB or the iphone using exchange protocol.

Also, if you use calendar sync there is none natively.