Blackberry success is not entirely relying on BBM, plus bbm integration is deep into bb os and probably not developed in ios.

I am not a smartphone expert but I see a lot of other featured to bb devices, the keyboard being one, the playbook, the data usage, the notifications, the diversity of devices and form factor, the open mind community, the android emulation on qnx devices, the battery life and so on

I used my first bb for two years before i discovered bbm
    True. But we're talking about the consumer market. The enterprise market is still RIM's for the time being but BBM was RIM's one marketing strategy to sway consumers in getting a BlackBerry. Now that Apple has introduced iMessage, why would any consumer want to get a BlackBerry when iOS now does the same thing? Sure BBM is more complete in terms of integration but Apple will soon fix that too. Right now, people want that IM app and Apple gave it to them. I can see an iMessage commercial in the VERY near future.
    06-06-11 01:55 PM
    Oh, and the sad part is how many of these things RIM has done for a while now, if not years.

1. Contacts, email-setup, calendars, etc. synced across devices.
    2. Third-party integration into OS services
    3. Wi-fi music/media sync
    4. Centralized notification bar and service into which all apps can plug into
    5. BBM

[shakes head] RIM is going to go down as a business-school case as to how not to run your company. Establish a dominant position in the marketplace, rest on your laurels while competitors eat your market share from out under you, and then don't respond fast enough.