So i switched from a Bold 9700 to a 3GS just to test the waters, and i'm having three major issues with my iphone: 1) email- i'm used to my phone letting me know there's new a message. Do iphones have e-mail alerts? Having to update all the time is getting really annoying. 2) i love the iheart radio app, and on my iphone whenever i press the home key, iheart turns off. Is there a way to keep it playing? My bb let me listen to iheart and do other things. 3) I'm noticeing that my battery barely lasts througout the day

Just curious are these normal/fixable iphone issues? I've been a mac user for the past five years, but i'm new to the iphone game so sorry if these are stupid questions - I'm just really new to this device and I don't know all its tricks, but would appreciate any tips! thanx
    03-31-10 07:30 PM
    Hey there,
    I use to work at Apple. As far as email goes, you can retrieve sounds whenever you receive an email on your iPhone. Unfortunately, there is no led indicator like on a BB or most Android phones (maybe for future iPhone, who knows!).
    With the iheart app, there is now ay you can have it running it in the background (this functionality is known as multi-tasking). The only thing you can run in the background are the standard apps that start with the iPhone (music, safari, stock, etc). There have rumors flying around that OS 4.0 will have such a functionality to do so.
    And with the battery life, it will definitely be shorter than your 9700. The iPhone is a full screen device with more power than other devices, so it will drain up a lot of energy. Again, it is said future software (and hardware) will have a lot more efficient battery life.
    Hope this helps
    03-31-10 07:48 PM
    If you jailbreak, you'll be able to get multi-tasking. As for the battery, yeah it's not as good as a BB mainly because of the larger screen size. They do make nice external battery pack that plug into the dock connector at the bottom.