Looking at getting my first smart phone and think the iphone might be it. Was wondering if there are any things i can try to bring my bill down.

I will be switching from verizon. I have not switched carriers in a long time is there anyway you can talk them into added some free stuff. For instance if i tell them i will switch today if they give me 1,000 text messages a month will they bite and do it? AT&T text message rates are absurd so this could save me 10 bucks a month.

In general just looking for some tips that may help cut back the cost.
    Also i am a student so ill see if they give student discounts through my university which would be nice.

Any info would be great!
    10-17-09 07:02 PM
    i think you are out of luck. unlimited texting is 20 bucks a month that is the same price as verizon. not to mention that when you buy the iphone with a new contract from at&t they are giving you the phone for 400 bucks off. that phone with out a contract sells for 600 bucks all day long
    10-18-09 06:24 AM
    The only thing I can think of that they should be able to do is waive the $18 (?) one time activation fee. lol

Just ask
    10-18-09 07:04 AM
    yeah ill try my best to get some money knocked off. Was just wondering if they would be more willing because i am a verizon customer and might switch.
    10-18-09 11:57 AM
    Yea when you are serious let them know I am serious moving right now, but I am hesitated because this is a lot of money in stake. I will sign up right now if you can include something nice inside my package for me, if they don't cooperate then ask if they can waive the activation fee off.

Also tell them you think you qualify for a premier discount with your university and they can help you with that.
    10-18-09 12:04 PM
    They are going to give u the world for just one line. The only thing you'll get is waived activation.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-18-09 03:30 PM