Having a little extra change in my pocket due to a pretty big sale, I found a Droid Eris for about $60 and bought it, I am one of those idiots who has both an AT&T and Verizon account (the Verizon is for work and the AT&T for personal use), and the Storm 2 I had on Verizon was driving me nuts since I obtained the Torch, so I thought trying the Eris would be a good experiment.

The Eris I bought was barely two months new and the guy warned me that he had a Torch and I would see the difference. I've had some experience with Android devices through my son who has a Drlid X, but it was the first time I had hands-on experience. I am very disappointed. What in the world has made this such a sought after phone? I have no idea.

The Eris is a nice size with a nice screen. That's about it. Maybe I'm a businessman and need my email to be all in one place (I have 4 addresses), but it was a pain seeing my Torch get emails instantaneously and waiting for a minute or so for the Eris to catch up. The Torch screen is better (even better than the Droid X), and the screen is more responsibe. The Android marketplace is filled with apps, but trying to find that unique app (WVU fight song or Cincinnati Reds wallpaper) is just as frustrating as on BB's App World. Add that to the camera (5MP) that is not only non-responsive, but takes lousy pictures (mush worse than my old 3.2 MP Bold or my Storm 2) and I have to wonder what is all the excitement? Oh yeah. The virtual keyboard sucks.

Having a iPod Touch and my son having the new generation (which I think is based on the iPhome 4), all I can see is applications. Kid stuff. And hype.

The Torch is a wonderful phone--the best I've ever had. There is nothing that the Android and Apple phones can do (outside of all those things that kids like and old men like me can do without).