So if I ever have to answer "I thought BlackBerry was going out of businesses " I want to make sure I have an accurate answer.

To my current understanding:
    BlackBerry was in a bad place, they were losing money like an open wound. To try and settle things down Thorsten Heins, the CEO at the time, tried to sell BlackBerry for parts. Then the media hyped everything up and convinced people BlackBerry was going out of businesses. After BlackBerry realized no one was interested in them, they got a large investment from (forgot their name) and booted Heins. The new CEO, John Chen(Much easier to remember his name), has been slowly cleaning up after Heins and reducing the amount of money BlackBerry has been losing.

Now I know I'm no expert and I haven't really looked into everything, so I was hoping you guys at CB could help me polish up this response.
    10-11-14 02:29 PM
    The did have one or two suitors, but if you were not a Canadian firm, the Canadian Government was not allowing a sale for security reasons. Now if BlackBerry was allowed to be sold internationally then you would have seen offers. On another point, Prem Whatsa was the investor.

Posted via CB10
    10-11-14 03:06 PM
    Sort of accurate. Some of the timing isn't exactly right though.
    10-11-14 04:13 PM
    I don't think anyone ever wanted to break the company up. No one that would be been approved by the regulators wanted to buy the company whole though so they planned to take it private to take everything out of the spotlight. Basically once they dug into it though it wasn't a viable option so they decided to issue 1.25 billion of debt to make sure they had enough cash
    10-11-14 04:17 PM
    Fairfax led an investment group that invested a billion dollars in BlackBerry. Not Prem personally
    10-11-14 04:27 PM
    So if I ever have to answer "I thought BlackBerry was going out of businesses " I want to make sure I have an accurate answer.