In light of the recent "The Score" app happenings with them pulling their app for an android port (with no notifications), I have been thinking of an app idea and have a question to go along with it.

I would love to have a sports app with notifications for ALL sports available. Not just some sports, but all sports and all notifications. Kind of like the old Score app did with BBOS. I am even willing to pay for an app like this because of the lack of options. Yes, I know there is the Sportsnet app (which I have), but it does not give me notifications for all sports.

Now to my questions. Is this an app that is even possible to develop? Is it that difficult to make a sports app with push notifications? Why is there so few options out there?

Also, I have tried android ports and apks. They don't work and I want a native one.

I have no knowledge of developing apps and feedback, and hopefully making an app can come out of this thread.

Thanks.

Posted via CB10
    06-05-14 03:49 PM
    *bump*

Anyone?

Posted via CB10
    06-08-14 01:01 PM
    I've been thinking on a idea for a app to build. I'll look into this and see what I can do. I'm new to app development but this is the field I study.

Z10STL100-3/10.2.1.3175
    06-08-14 01:24 PM
    I don't quite understand.
    Doesn't theScore app push notifications into the notification drop down on android? If they do, then shouldn't those be visible in Hub on Notification tab?

If they don't do notifications in android then why they implemented it in BlackBerry 10? The easiest would be to take the android source code and add features you miss. There are some decompiler tools that can help with code extraction from apk.

Edit: just realized that it was regarding push notifications, not hub notifications. Push notification allows to keep an application closed and 'wake up' by a signal from their server.

Posted via CB10
    Last edited by vrud; 06-08-14 at 02:58 PM.
    06-08-14 01:32 PM