Hey! I am a newbie from Mexico!

I just got a BB Pearl and was wondering how can I save a Birthday in my blackberry and be able to see in the calendar; do I have to do this as if it were an "appointment" isn't there a specific function for birthdays?

On other subjects, I know I can use my BB with a microSD as a flash drive, but can I also go and open and edit documents in my BB?? I use mostly MicrosoftOffice formats (.doc .xls .ptt) but I do not wish to pay for applications to it ???

HELP
    04-30-07 05:00 PM
    As far as I know, you'd have to set up the birthday as an appointment in your calendar. I have not seen a specific function for birthday's in the built-in calendar. Now there may be a 3rd party application that can handle that.

Yes, you can use the microSD as a flash drive, but you will not be able to open office docs on your BB with it.
    04-30-07 05:40 PM
    I believe this is the case as well.

Welcome from Mexico!
    04-30-07 07:39 PM
    I miss the birthday thingy...my MDA (WM5 deivice) used to automatically add an all day event once i input birthdays into the contact info...too bad RIM hasn't picked up that yet...
    04-30-07 07:41 PM
    Nice feature....I hope they add that
    04-30-07 07:42 PM
    Wait, am I missing something here?

In Outlook, if you have the info in the 'details' of the contact, 'birthday section' that will sync to the BlackBerry. Well, mine does anyway...

As for Word documents on the memory card. Best thing to do, it to convert Word docs to Notepad, i.e. copy & paste. Those will show on the card, and are readable. Not too sure about a 'cheat' for Excel...
    04-30-07 10:12 PM

In Outlook, if you have the info in the 'details' of the contact, 'birthday section' that will sync to the BlackBerry. Well, mine does anyway...
    Soo...the birthday will show up in the calendar? on the contact's birthday? i think that's what the OP was getting at...atleast, that's how i read it...