I am new to this Forum but have been a BB over for 8 year plus and always on a contract in the UK (where I am based) with Orange.

The main attraction to me with BB (and I had a Bold before, and something else before that etc) is the ability to send and receive
    emails GLOBALLY on a 24/7 basis,. I travel for months at a time in Africa (Wifi few and far between and very few are free) so the
    ability to receive and send emails was the number one (and number two , and three etc) reason for having BB.

I am not too technical, but assume roaming always on. My roaming bills were no more than $50 per month EVER - and that only
    I downloaded email attachments, which I did not do frequently.

I recently upgraded to a Q10 as my old contract had expired (although it could have run on month to month) and I was advised if I
    upgraded, "nothing would change".

Well it did. One my first trip to Africa with my new Q10 I incurred what turned out to be a $1,000 bill on the 45 minute trip from the
    airport to my hotel.

I am, of course, contesting this, but after looking on various blogs and speaking to people in various phone shops, I am none the
    wiser.

Can anyone enlighten me? MY Q10 is effectively USELESS now for travelling as roaming fees are unsustainable. And I went
    75MB in the 45 minutes - and only looking at emails. Nothing else was on.

Why does one use more date when travelling than when at "home"?
    How do I access emails as before WITHOUT getting hit with roaming charges (and getting a local SIM not an option). I just want
    things "as they were".

How did I get emails before? Roaming? If so, how did I do so with minimal charges? Is it a BIS issue? If I turn off roaming I get no
    emails, but if I turn it on I get huge bills? What is going on?

Is it something to do with compression? BB Enterprise server? I am NOT very technical, just interested in a good value service -