I've figured out how to remove core system files. I've only removed the language files, and a few other carrier related items, but nothing more. It isn't important to shrink out stuff I have no current knowledge of...oh but eventually I will know, yeeees, I will know!!!

Anyway, it's easier to shrink AFTER installation, than to go through all of the hurdles of a preinstall shrink - having to disassemble then reassemble the OS and its contents. What I've done is allow desktop tools - in this case I'm using Sachibar and vnBB10 - the ability to "see" AND access core system files. It's pretty simple, here we go...

WARNING...IF YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING, DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS! YOU WILL MESS UP YOUR PHONE.

In the images, to the left of my desktop image, you can see Sachibar and vnBB10 active together - no weird happenings here. To the right of those are the list of extracted bar files, from OS10.2.0.483, for references

With my phone connected to USB, and in Development Mode, I start Sachibar and select the tab to show me the list of installed system files. As you can see, my phone is littered with language files I do not currently use. I scroll thru this list - the Sachibar window should be active, to scroll thru the list - and make note of all of the language files I plan to remove. Once I'm done there, I go to the extracted files folder and select the language files I extracted from the installed OS. I highlight these files, then drag and drop the language file group onto the vnBB10 window. From this point, all you'll see is a blank list of file names and file size numbers.