Hi, is there a simple way to write programs for the Blackberry 10 platform?

i have some knowledge on Python but I'm totally clueless when it comes to C++ or Java. I really wish to contribute to the success to come for Blackberry, I just don't have a clue on where to start!!

Cheers.
    banana_512 and mathking606 like this.
    03-21-13 01:58 PM

i have some knowledge on Python but I'm totally clueless when it comes to C++ or Java. I really wish to contribute to the success to come for Blackberry, I just don't have a clue on where to start!!

Cheers.
    BlackBerry Developer
    03-21-13 02:09 PM

Cheers.
    This might be something you want to check out: BlackBerry-Py Project
    Jonathan Ng likes this.
    03-23-13 05:08 PM
    me too, i want to support our community, to make some contribution to development aspect.
    03-24-13 12:45 AM
    There's lots of options on the BlackBerry 10 platform.

Depending on your skill set you can program in:

a.) Native C/C++ (e.g. As "Close to the Metal" as you can get)

b.) Cascades this let's you build out whatever UI you want with the BlackBerry 10 look and feel... then use your choice of (C++ or JavaScript) to control the logic and interaction.

C.) Adobe AIR/AS3 a fairly robust yet easy to learn/use OOP language with a QNX control library

D.) WebWorks/HTML5 & JavaScript if you know how to build a web site or HTML5 app game

E.) If Java is your thing you can build an Android app and then package it for BlackBerry 10

In all honesty though unless you've got strong skills in one of the other platforms I'd recommend Cascades... it provides a ton of features and animations out of the box... so much that you can often prototype an entire app without writing any much code at all!

There are BlackBerry forums to help you out and a community of developers that are ready to assist should you get stuck.

All you need to do is start! ;-)

1.) sign up as a BlackBerry Vendor (super easy)