This is driving me insane. All I want to do is send an email to particular email addresses from my Playbook. My accounts are all set up and work fine, so that is not the issue.

I'm a teacher in the UK and all the schools in our area have email addresses set up by the local authority. They look like this:

[email protected]

and

[email protected]

Now, whenever I try and send an email on my playbook to an email address that has a schoolname.northants-ecl.gov.uk suffix it refuses to send it. The email address goes red as soon as I type it in, and when I click to send the email, I get a popup appear telling me the email address is invalid and to change it (see attached image)

Attachment 107096

I know for a fact the email address is typed correctly, and I've contacted @BlackberryHelp on twitter who have now just sent me off to the direct Playbook support site.

Rant over, thanks for reading!

Zeb
    Last edited by Zebedee; 04-07-12 at 01:56 AM.
    Mr.Softberry and Tcarb like this.
    04-06-12 01:54 PM
    Interesting.
    I get the same results on my native email app as well.
    However, I tried it on the bridge email and it looks normal there. Do you have a Blackberry phone to try bridge email?
    04-06-12 02:14 PM
    Just tried bridge email, and that's fine. I've never had a problem sending from my phone, just can't understand why native email on the PB is stopping it..?
    04-06-12 02:19 PM
    Email address validating rules in the PB messages app must be stricter/different. The best thing you can do is to post on the Beta Zone. I am sure, they'll look into this.
    04-06-12 02:24 PM
    The PB probably doesn't understand dashes
    04-06-12 02:36 PM
    I just made up a fake address [email protected]

It does not turn red like op email example.
    kennyliu likes this.
    04-06-12 02:55 PM
    I just made up a fake address [email protected]

It does not turn red like op email example.
    Can you try one with three full stops in the domain?